Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Contributor
stumcqueen
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: EE

Z10 can't see my home wifi

Hi All

 

Hopefully someone can help, for soem reason my Z10 cannot see my home wifi. Every other device in the house can from Laptop, to Playbook to ipod and Bold 9900.

 

When i refresh the list of available networks it does not even show.

 

I've tried all the troubleshooting tips on the BB website to no avail.

 

Anyone else have this problem?

 

Thanks

 

stu

 

PS it connects fine to every other network i try and connect to.

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,334
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

Look at my tips on wifi
Speed-up-BlackBerry-Wi-Fi-connections-a-knottyrope-tip


Also try rebooting the Router as DHCP might be stuck with a lease

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
Contributor
stumcqueen
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: EE

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

thanks Knottyrope, but i've tried those solutions.

 

I've reset the router, changed its channel.

 

I've given the phone a full reboot.

 

THe problemis the phone just won't see the network, every other device I have can see it and will connect to it except my Z10, the following see it and connect without an issue: Laptop, Playbook, PS3, Ipod, Blackberry 7 Device.

 

When I first got the phone it conected without problem and now it won't even see the network.

 

I've tried to manualy connect and it just times out.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
stumcqueen
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: EE

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

it looks like my Z10 is only picking routers on 802.11n and not g

 

checked the specs and it should pick wifi across all spectrums

Please use plain text.
Contributor
stumcqueen
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: EE

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

lovely to see that technical support is readily available for the Z10

 

EE "we don't even have manual yet, we'll put you through to Blackberry they mightbe able to help"

 

RIM "its possible we might be able to help but to register for support its $49 dollars, so what you need to do is get EE to phone us and then put you through and they will pay"

 

Still not convinced they have the slightest idea!

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
taylor-tomt
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎11-19-2010
My Device: Z10, Playbook

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

My Z10 is picking up both WIFI bands no problem.

 

Dumb question, but, is your router broadcasting the SSID?

 

Try 'manual connect' and enter the SSID of your network.

 

Also, WIFI turns OFF if you enable the hotspot.

 

Does your Z10 see other WIFI networks (i.e. wifi is working, its just your network with a problem)?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
stumcqueen
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: EE

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

yes its broadcasting SSID and i've tried manual connect.

 

WIFI hotspot function is off (one of the RIM solutions on there troubleshooting guide)

 

its only seeing "n" networks

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
taylor-tomt
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎11-19-2010
My Device: Z10, Playbook

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

Is your device in any kind of case that could be causing signal loss (i.e. metal bits near the antenna)?

 

Mine is not in any case and has no issues with wifi.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
stumcqueen
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: EE

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

No it isn;t in any case.

 

It is however now miraculously working, after a rant at EE and RIM, and a sim reset of the phone settings and a full hard reboot, sim and battery out.

 

not sure what if anything changed but it hasn't worked for days until now and i've reset everything several times over.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
llamano
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Z10 can't see my home wifi

My Z10 cannot see my home wifi either, although I have successfully connected twice in the past. I have gone through all the troubleshooting issues to no avail, and all my other devices (like, six of them) connect with zero issues.

 

Even more troubling is that my Z10 cannot even see the multitude of other wifi networks in my building, while my iPad can pick up at least fifteen of them. The problem is clearly with the phone when it cannot find ANY of them, let alone my home network.

 

It has worked on occasion tho. . .

Please use plain text.