Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
sipoliver
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-15-2014
My Device: Z10, Z30, Q10, Q5
My Carrier: Rogers
Accepted Solution

Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

Please help somebody.. My Z10 seems bricked with flashing red LED.

 

This issue happens on my Z10 (STL100-3) phone. I was trying to load an leaked BB 10.3 OS to take a look as mentioned in crackberry, auto loader name: Z10_10.3.00.0140_STL100-2-3.exe. It failed at the 99% of image loading. Then, I tried to load an official 10.2.1 OS using auto loader, but I got the following:

 

[       Uploading RAM Image 0x8023902C ] [############## 100 ##############]

QCFMv1/v2 Hybrid File
    containing: Radio

    Signature Trailer:
       EC521_512 Signer: 0x48584E51 (QNXH-OS-1)
       EC521_256 Signer: 0x4C584E51 (QNXL-OS-1)
[                  Writing  0x005CC000 ] [############## 100 ##############]

QCFMv1/v2 Hybrid File
    containing: IFS, OS, User File System

    IFS/OS Version:        10.2.1.1927 DEV
        Hardware ID:       0x051D0001 RIM BlackBerry Device
        Metrics Version:   3.18
        Build Date:        Dec 19 2013
        Build Time:        17:45:38
        Build User:        ec_agent
        STP Protocol Ver:  0.0.4 (release OS)

    Signature Trailer:
       EC521_512 Signer: 0x48584E51 (QNXH-OS-1)
       EC521_256 Signer: 0x4C584E51 (QNXL-OS-1)
[                  Writing  0x0001761F ] [############## 99 ###############]


Error: Failed to load images.


Error: Security error.

 

 

I treid many times, same result.

 

Then, I tried to restore it to factory settings using BlackBerry Link (the latest version) by button "Reload". During the action, the LED turns green. But everytime, it fails when the progressing bar reaches the end, with this message:

 

"Software update encountered an error. An error has occurred while updating your device's software.

Unspecified error encountered [A:0x00000049].

 

I have tried restoring / reloading OS by above two methods many times with and without battery inserted (battery has power). SD card and SIM card are not plugged in.

 

I searched around and tried a couple of ways suggested, including this article (also with A:0x00000049 error, http://forums.crackberry.com/bb10-leaked-beta-os-f395/q10-full-os-10-1-0-2342-sqn100-3-a-811046/inde... but none of them works for me :smileysad:

 

Any insight? Many thanks.

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
PeterB82
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

Did you try updating Blackberry Link then restoring it to factory?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
PeterB82
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

...also what exacly do you see when you boot the phone?  Does it return an error and just get stuck at that point or is it stuck in a loop?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
sipoliver
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-15-2014
My Device: Z10, Z30, Q10, Q5
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

I did use BlackBerry Link. I tried two ways:

 

1. go to BlackBerry Link Preferences, select 'Reload Device Software' > Reload. After the progress bar reaches the end, it gives the "[A:0x00000049]" error.

 

2. in the BlackBerry Link main screen, i select the device (Z10), it says "Cannot Communicate with Device.... BlackBerry Link will restore your device to factory settings by reinstalling the device software". I click "Reload". After the progress bar reaches the end, it gives the "[A:0x00000049]" error.

 

During the process, the LED truns green. But after the error occurred, LED turns red and blinks.

 

Can't reboot, it doesn't show anything in the screen or give any error execpt that LED keeps blinking. LED blinking pattern is: one short, three short, two short, and looping this sequence.

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
PeterB82
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

When you plug in your phone to the computer does your computer recognize the phone?  Does it recognize something is pluged in?  If so try this link www.blackberry.com/updates

and click on Check for updates button.  If it does not work let e know what error you get.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
PeterB82
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
sipoliver
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-15-2014
My Device: Z10, Z30, Q10, Q5
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

Thanks Peter. 


When I connected my Z10 to the PC running BlackBerry Link via USB, ithe Link did detect the connection, and asked me for the device password which I of course gave correctly.

 

I also tried to load an old unmatched OS image using the loader which ended up with different result - phone tried to boot with the error triangle icon and www.bberror.com/bb10-0004. Following the instruction:

http://btsc.webapps.blackberry.com/btsc/viewdocument.do?externalId=KB34545&sliceId=2&cmd=displayKC&d...

 

I still see the same error when using Link [A:0x00000049]

 

Also tried to load dirrect from the web page based on this info:

http://ca.blackberry.com/software/smartphones/update/blackberry10-os.html?cpid=van:bb:Jan2014:vanity...

 

Still the same failure.

 

Finally, I went to this page full of official auto loaders:

https://developer.blackberry.com/blackberry10devalpha/allautoloaders.html

 

I selected the 10.1.0.1485 version, and successfully loaded it. So my z1o is rescued. Happy!

 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
sipoliver
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-15-2014
My Device: Z10, Z30, Q10, Q5
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

Well, after an hour or so of joy, it gave me "Thank you for participating! The blackberry  dev alpha device program has ended.". Then it went off.

 

It is NOT even an alpha a/b/c device, it is production Z10. Before this issue came up, after I went through the setup wizard following the last booting, I was offered to do the OS upgrade OTA, but I didn't.

 

So, now, when I try to upload using either auto loader, or the BlackBerry Link, the previous issue happens all over agian, "[A:0x00000049]" from Link, or "Security error" using loader.

 

I repeated all the process I went through before, still can't boot. Even after I reloaded the 10.1.0.1485 for STL100-3 z10, it would direclty go to the "Thank you for participating! The blackberry  dev alpha device program has ended." screen. sigh.... :smileysad:

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
sipoliver
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-15-2014
My Device: Z10, Z30, Q10, Q5
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

[continued] Tried a couple of loaders of various verisons, Autoload-STL100-3-10.2.0.1157.exe have the Z10 booted. Will be doing an OTA upgrade to the latest 10.2.1.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
sipoliver
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-15-2014
My Device: Z10, Z30, Q10, Q5
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Z10 won't boot up due to error "[A:0x00000049]"

Succeeded. Now i have OS upgraded to the latest 10.2.1.

Please use plain text.