04-17-2013 03:51 AM
I updated the Z10 to the latest version using Link. Then I removed softwares I do not wish to use (Facebook, Linkedin, Dropbox...). Now everytime I connect to Link or go to the 'Software update' menu the same OS update is shown as available. When I click it, it installs and the above mentioned apps are back.
Should I just leave those useless (to me) apps to be notified of real updates?
04-17-2013 05:36 AM
The Z10 will offer you two types of updates. 1- Software Updates and 2- Application Updates. If you update your software then delete some apps, you'll get a notification to update (or in this case, reinstall) those apps. This is done as an Applications Update.
If you've updated your software and you're happy with the performance, just ignore those Application Updates until the next Software Update comes your way.
I'm not sure if you can tell the difference between the two when viewing an update with Link. To properly see which update is being offered, you might have to swipe down on your phone's homescreen and select Settings>Software Updates.
I hope that helps you.
04-17-2013 05:44 AM
I got an application update for a specific app. It was crystal clear and I took the update. Are avery app update shown the same way?
- when accessing the phone's settings and then 'software updates' I see the OS 10.0.10.99 update... which is the exact version I already installed
- if I remove an app because it is no use for me, I do not expect that app to be shown in any update, nor reinstalled on the next OS update
So my guess is that by removing a default app from the device, the "OS" is not exactly the same as the one provided in the update thus I get the update offer. That looks weird to me if I am right...
04-17-2013 06:24 AM
04-17-2013 06:38 AM - edited 04-17-2013 06:38 AM
This was also the case with the first PlayBook OS and as far as I remember they fixed this after a while. Looks like they made the same error again