Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,676
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: z10 blackberry

Here's what I recommend if you haven't tried it:

 

Make a full backup of your old device using Desktop Manager.

 

Reset the device to factory settings.  Instructions:  http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB18998

 

Reconnect the device to Desktop Manager and then restore only the databases you want to transfer.

 

Then use either the Link software or the Switch Device feature on the device itself using the media card to transfer that data to the Z10.

 

It worked for me for some data that wouldn't transfer. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ticfever
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
My Device: Playbook and Z10

Re: z10 blackberry

I can't get link to see my z10 at all
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,280
Likes: 23,046
Solutions: 5,930
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: z10 blackberry


ticfever wrote:
I can't get link to see my z10 at all

Then you need to call EE for escalated support on the issue.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ticfever
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
My Device: Playbook and Z10

Re: z10 blackberry

As I said, it adds no value to me until it can PIM sync my outlook calendar. When this version gets released and I still can't connect - I'll push the escalation button
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,280
Likes: 23,046
Solutions: 5,930
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: z10 blackberry

Actually, what you said was:


ticfever wrote:

To be clear - BB Link is a pretty pointless peice of SW at the moment. All it does is copy pictures, videos, and files back and forth between the Z10 and computer. I could easily do this by treating the phone as a drive. It says it transfers calendar etc from you old BB, but it doesn't.


What you meant was "...in your experience and knowledge".

 

Link is far from ideal, but it does do more than some users are expecting.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ticfever
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
My Device: Playbook and Z10

Re: z10 blackberry

To be fair - my experience is what matters most to me. Not having the same simple PIM sync as with the other BlackBerry models is actually everyone's experience.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,280
Likes: 23,046
Solutions: 5,930
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: z10 blackberry

Exactly, And your experience (or my own) does not invalidate features you or I don't use.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
ticfever
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
My Device: Playbook and Z10

Re: z10 blackberry

Indeed - but it's the features it doesn't have compared to blackberry desktop that is problematic. I had a great experience with the 9800 and I don't anymore. That is why BlackBerry have now committed to filling a feature gap that exists now which didn't before. Clearly it wasn't just my experience that triggered their commitment.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,280
Likes: 23,046
Solutions: 5,930
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: z10 blackberry

I agree with you totally on that... you and I are on the same sheet of music.

 

I was only intending to correctly state those things are possible, which you had stated were not.

 

It's not been a pleasant learning experience for me.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Sloppy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-21-2013
My Device: Z10 and 16 GB Playbook

Re: z10 blackberry

[ Edited ]

you're not alone

 

and quite frankly this is DISGRACEFUL for BlackBerry to not have worked this out BEFORE releasing the Z10.

 

do they not realise that people will need/want to move all their data to the new phone, quickly and easily???

 

Why does this have to be so tough????

 

Once again, BlackBerry fail miserably to support their new, very nice device.

 

Blackberry, are you listening?  this is how it should be done

 

Do a full backup on your old device through Desktop Manager

 

Point the Blackberry link software at the back up file and let it copy the info to the new phone

 

DONE!  why isn't that how it works?

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.