Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Contributor
sebstarr3
My Device: z10

z10 faulty code BUG - emails may not be sent/released if you have a hosted domain with email accounts

let me preface this by saying I have been a loyal blackberry user, screaming from my soapbox about blackberry for many many years and that I am not a techie and really wish blackberry all the best.

however, today my blackberry faith has been completely crushed and i don't want anyone to go through this pain.

I just confirmed  that the z10 in it's current OS and the way in which email is formatted does not meet certain code requirements CRLF RFC ??  As such any emails routed through to a hosting provider will likely be blocked from leaving their servers. It has to do with headers, date stamps and formatting of the emails as read by spam blockers as they apprear from the blackberry OS

what happened to me is that emails showed as sent, and then i was wondering why i never head back from clients. Bingo. they never got it. 

After extensive phone calls, testing accounts with BB, hosting domain and Rogers, it became clear this was a z10 issue.

So any small business owners that use large hosting providers that have strict spam and code requirements BEWARE. In all liklihood you will experience great difficulties in emailing anyone (read they won't get them).

Gmail and hotmail work fine.

Before you mention them...STMP and SSL and ports do not make a difference in my case. This has been confirmed. Trust me.

Is it a nice device? Yes.  Does it have potential? yes.  Does it meet my  most basic email needs? NO

to top it all off, i just extended my contract to get this phone. If I'm lucky, from the sounds of it, it might work after two future OS updates.