Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z30

Reply
New Contributor
Lidwa
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2014
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: Mobilis
Accepted Solution

security wipe icon stuck on Z30

I saved my datas via BB Link to reset factory settings on it. After clicking on reset BB Link asked me to remove the phone from the computer. And the security wipe icon with a blue turning light in a black circle stuck from about 1 hour. 

 

Just want to know if is that normal or not? and how many time it will take? 

 

Thank you

Please use plain text.
Elite II
BillJ
Posts: 8,978
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: security wipe icon stuck on Z30

I haven't done a security wipe in ages so I don't even know what the icon looks like these days. I will say that a security wipe can take hours to complete if there's a lot of data on your phone.

 

You might be best to leave it overnight to see if it's ready to go in the morning (unless another member can confirm that the frozen icon is not a good thing and other steps should be taken).

 

 

I hope that helps you.  :smileyhappy:


- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Lidwa
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2014
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: Mobilis

Re: security wipe icon stuck on Z30

I have just 1.36 Go free. You think that's why?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Lidwa
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2014
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: Mobilis

Re: security wipe icon stuck on Z30

It's on now thanks god. But my tactil screen doesn't work and I can't pass the langage menu. I can't select any langage. Think that the screen is disconnected I need to open it but don't have the right tools :smileysad:.

 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
BillJ
Posts: 8,978
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: security wipe icon stuck on Z30

Try restarting your phone. Press and hold the power button for about 15 seconds until you see BlackBerry on the screen. Don't release it before that despite what appears on the screen.


Try that and post back with your results. :smileyhappy:

- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Lidwa
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-21-2014
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: Mobilis

Re: security wipe icon stuck on Z30

No buttons work :s. I try to press the buttons for 1 minute even but nothing happend. The langage menu still stuck and I can't choose any langage. 

Please use plain text.
Super Contributor
craigashy
Posts: 477
Registered: ‎05-29-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Orange/EE. UK

Re: security wipe icon stuck on Z30

Plug it into BlackBerry Link and select reload or update. And then leave it plugged in until it's finish

Craig Ashcroft Elite UK
If this post helps you please click the LIKE below the post(s)
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
Negrabella25
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎08-23-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Claro

Re: security wipe icon stuck on Z30

It's important that when you are in the wipe process do not take out the battery, it will damage the device OS.
Wen you are wiping the device it need to be connected to a power source.
Yes a wipe will take a very long time all depending on the data you have on the device OS.
A wipe will not affect you SIM or SD card.

Before doing a wipe if it 's posible to do a full back up.

 

How to backup and restore data on the BlackBerry 10 smartphone using BlackBerry Link

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB33526

How to perform a Security Wipe on the BlackBerry 10 smartphone

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB33591

Performing a Security Wipe on BlackBerry 10 takes longer than expected

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB33494

If it helped you, click like.
If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved.
Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.

Good luck and let us know!
Please use plain text.