Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Built For BlackBerry

Reply
Developer
thubalek
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

How it is possible that some apps use keyword "Built for BlackBerry" even if they don't have certificate

When I enter search "Built for BlackBerry" (which is IMHO reserved keyword), then I see some apps that are most likely misusing this keyword.

 

Examples:

http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/26841874

http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/20177215

http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/20407240

 

Is that legal or do they violate Built For BlackBerry guidelines?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- My Blackberry 10 app at http://blackberry.hubalek.net
-- My Android apps at http://android.hubalek.net
Please use plain text.
Developer
Ebscer
Posts: 853
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How it is possible that some apps use keyword "Built for BlackBerry" even if they don't have certificate

Because they probably did build these apps for BlackBerrys. The Built for BlackBerry program is its own thing...


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Please use plain text.
Developer
peter9477
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: How it is possible that some apps use keyword "Built for BlackBerry" even if they don't have certificate

I have no real idea if it's considered to be in violation of any guidelines or not, but in any case I've passed this thread along to the BFB team.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Please use plain text.
Developer
thubalek
Posts: 318
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

Re: How it is possible that some apps use keyword "Built for BlackBerry" even if they don't have certificate

@ebscer

 

I got this feeling because of this part of BFB Naming and Logo Guidelines:

 

Keywords

In addition, to ensure your App appears in searches, you should update your keywords within
your App description to include “Built for BlackBerry”. This can be done through the vendor
portal using the following path:
Vendor Portal>Manage Products>App Name>Edit>Description>Keywords

 

So I guess that this keyword is not for everyone, otherwise it would not make sense.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- My Blackberry 10 app at http://blackberry.hubalek.net
-- My Android apps at http://android.hubalek.net
Please use plain text.
Developer
Ebscer
Posts: 853
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How it is possible that some apps use keyword "Built for BlackBerry" even if they don't have certificate

Interesting.

 

I am going to add that keyword to one of my apps. Lets see what happens.


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
neilwick
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-20-2013
My Device: Bold 9790
My Carrier: Telus

Re: How it is possible that some apps use keyword "Built for BlackBerry" even if they don't have certificate

It is possible that those apps are certified. It's difficult to say for sure. I know that there are certified apps which have no indication of that status either in their icons or in their descriptions.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
sandeepsharma10
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-08-2013
My Device: No Device
My Carrier: No Provider

Re: How it is possible that some apps use keyword "Built for BlackBerry" even if they don't have certificate

the keyword can't be added directly to the app.

Sandeep Sharma
Please use plain text.