Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Community Feedback and Ideas

Reply
Contributor
Abraxias
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

I'm using Opera and I got a message:

<supportforums.blackberry.com>
Your browser is not supported. Spell Checker Disabled
 

 

I'm hoping that Opera will be fully supported, a.s.a.p. :smileywink: 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

Hi! I didn't try that out in my opera but guess what site is working fine blackberry internet browser. I'm replying this through HH browser. RIM should have WAP version of this site so that users have ease of use facility.

I'll let you know if I face similar error in my opera mini. Hey! Which browser ur using opera or opera mini?

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Please use plain text.
Contributor
Abraxias
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

right now, I'm using my desktop.

 

I can't use Opera Mini because I don't ANY data plan.

 

BUT, that will ALL change soon.  here's more info on why:  Blackberry Curve 8320 + wifi

 

I'm looking forward to using Opera Mini!

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
jonner
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

Most carriers (North America specificly) require a Data Plan at some point to be able to use the WiFi function on the BlackBerry Wifi devices

Please use plain text.
Contributor
safri
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

[ Edited ]
I can access this forum via Opera Mini :smileyhappy:
Message Edited by safri on 04-02-2008 03:48 AM
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
Ben
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???


jonner wrote:

Most carriers (North America specificly) require a Data Plan at some point to be able to use the WiFi function on the BlackBerry Wifi devices


Not exactly.   A carrier will require you to have a data plan to take advantage of thier services via WiFi, but they cannot require you to have a data plan to make a WiFi connection.   The WiFi software/radio is independant of the Carrier, you can utalize the WiFi browser to view web content.   Thats all you'll be able to do however.    Push Email, and other related services will require a data plan, WiFi or not.
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
jonner
Posts: 78
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

I may be incorrect but I was under the impression that in order to have the WiFi browser available a service book would need to be sent by the carrier and this would be unavailable with out the data setup from carrier. Now I know this could likely be removed after but that data would need to be setup at some time. Once again I could be wrong. 
Please use plain text.
Contributor
shivers316
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

Working on Opera Mini for me as well.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bbtech0251
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

The BlackBerry 8320 from T-Mobile comes with the Wi-Fi service book already installed.  Other carriers may vary.

 

Enjoy!

Please use plain text.
Contributor
jcj1
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎04-03-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BlackBerry Forums doesn't support Opera???

[ Edited ]
You are correct, you can connect to any open wifi network or network you have security info for without data plan, at least with T-Mobile. As for Opera mini make sure the APN for your carrier is in Options, advanced options, TCP and are using the wifi browser
Message Edited by jcj1 on 04-04-2008 10:32 PM
Please use plain text.