Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Desktop Software for Mac

Reply
New Contributor
1tripz1
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
My Device: 9000
My Carrier: Orange UK

Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

[ Edited ]

Problem straight off the bat when trying to set up a cable tether...

 

'Click Network. A dialog box stating "New Interface Detected" appears.'

 

This does not happen.

 

  1. Click the + button in the bottom left corner of the window.
  2. Select the BlackBerry - <PIN> from the drop down menu.
My phone is not listed there. I have 'RIM composite device', is this the same thing?

Running 10.6.2 and have the phone connected and synced in desktop manager.
Thanks!

EDIT: Split from from the following thread
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
Dr_Palto
Posts: 1,074
Registered: ‎01-25-2010
My Device: 9000, 9500
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

Hello,

 

I would recommend re installing the BlackBerry Desktop Manager for Mac. Also make sure the BlackBerry smartphone is not plugged in during the uninstall.

 

Link: http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB18771

 

Thank you


-DrP


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!


Please use plain text.
New Developer
Cligini
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-11-2009
My Device: Curve 8900

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

Hi 1tripz1,

on my computer the same thing showed so I'm guessing it is not really a problem ... I say this because I just chose RIM - Compisite device im place of step 2: BlackBerry - <PIN> ... and it worked perfectly. I am actually conneced to the internet through that as I type right now. I hope this didn't come too late and that you actually found a way around it.

 

Thanks everyone,

Cligini

Please use plain text.
New Member
Stellarian
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

This is not an issue but a something i would like to know.

 

If i use the blackberry as a theater modem, will it allow me to browse on my computer without paying extra data charges or will that fee be seperate from the blackberry service fee. in south africa vodacom cannot answer me to this question hence have never used it.

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
LBarouf
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-18-2011
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

Seems like new DM has broken DUN only on password protected devices using USB. If using BT or don't have a password protected device (anyone in their right mind still NOT using a password?) then there's no issue.

The password box that is supposed to pop-up by design does not appear in DM 2.1.0 build 24.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
LBarouf
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-18-2011
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

All depends on how the price plan is built by your carrier. Tethering is a different type of service and is easily detected by the carrier. If they don't want you to do it, they can block you. They can also charge you differently for it, allow access to it for a fee...or whatever they decide to do. Same goes on how it is displayed on your invoice... if it's part of the data plan, or create a seperate entry, it's up to them.

 

One thing is sure, once tethered (not theatre, tether) it will use your cellular connection therefore usage will be counted by the provider. I doubt very much any carrier would not count this towards any allotment. In fact, tendency is to charge extra for this feature, while using your regular BB data allotment of your plan. Hope it helps... go back to Vodafone and find someone with a brain.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
sundayvisions
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2011
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: GPDNR

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

I've just tethered my mac 10.5, when connect it will atept the connetion and after athenticating the modem disconect
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
LBarouf
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-18-2011
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

Have you tried by bluetooth also?
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
sundayvisions
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2011
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: GPDNR

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

Same thing
Please use plain text.
Visitor
azriq_muhamad90
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: Crazy

Re: Issue when using BlackBerry smartphone as a tethered modem with a Mac

Please use plain text.