Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Desktop Software for Mac

Contributor
bootyp
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8330
Accepted Solution

New BlackBerry Curve 8330 (Verizon) - Upgrade OS?

Hello, I use a Powerbook G4, and just purchased a BlackBerry Curve from Verizon.

The OS that is installed on my BB is v4.3.0.127 ... should I be upgrading right away to the latest OS (4.5 I think)? And if so, where/how do I obtain a copy of the updated OS, is it easy to upgrade to the latest version, and is there anything I need to know about doing an upgrade?

Thank you for the direction - I am new to the BB and can use any and all help/tips & tricks as possible. :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
Elite I
jmrmb80
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: New BlackBerry Curve 8330 (Verizon) - Upgrade OS?

The below steps all have to be done from a PC. It's not possible to update the OS from a Mac.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Here's a guide that walks through the process of updating the OS.

http://crackberry.com/blackberry-101-how-install-or-upgrade-new-rim-operating-system-os

Also the article mentions 4.5 as the lastest Desktop Manager, but you can download the latest (4.6) from here

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22

You can download the Verizon 4.5 OS from here

http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry/

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
bootyp
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8330

Thanks for the information!