Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Desktop Software for PC

Reply
New Contributor
HavanaLove
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
My Device: Not Specified

BB Curve backup from old harddrive??

Lastnight my BB Curve was stolen from work. How sad is that, I mean really?! Brand new, only 3 months old, totally had to spend another $400 on a new one today! :smileysad:

 

My question however is, I recently redid my computer and added a new harddrive, using my old one as a secondary. The last time I backed up my phone was on the old harddrive, and seeing as it was stolen lastnight, I never really had the chance to back it up on the new one.

 

All the files and such are still on the old one, is there anyway I can get the last back up from my old drive and upload it on to my new Curve now? 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: BB Curve backup from old harddrive??

Yes definitely you can have your old back up data in your new curve.

 

Connect your new device with desktop manager -> Click on Backup and restore ->  Advanced Tab -> Click on File menu at the top left of the window -> Open -> locate the old backed up data -> select the items on the left screen to transfer on the right (to your device)

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
HavanaLove
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BB Curve backup from old harddrive??


tanzim wrote:

"...locate the old backed up data "


That's the only problem, I have NO idea where it would even be!
Please use plain text.
Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: BB Curve backup from old harddrive??

These file have a extension ipd. Have a search on your PC with *.ipd and you'll get the file wherever it belongs (in your PC). By default these file took a name

 

                        Backup-(2008-01-08).ipd          - if whole device backed up by manual intervention

                        AutoBackup-(2008-01-08).ipd    - if backup is done with auto backup option

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
HavanaLove
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: BB Curve backup from old harddrive??

Correction, it's telling me it doesn't appear to be a valid device data file.
Please use plain text.
Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: grameenphone

Re: BB Curve backup from old harddrive??

Then I guess your backup file is damaged or corrupted. In such case nothing can be done. Sorry to say!

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
metroberry
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
My Device: Bold 9000 BES OS 4.6.0.162

Re: BB Curve backup from old harddrive??

[ Edited ]

What do you need to back up?  Do you only need your address book, calender, memos, and tasks?

Did you ever synchronize your blackberry with Outlook via desktop manager?  If so, just synchronize your new blackberry with outlook. 

 

If that is not the case, the only thing I can suggest is this.

 

1) Open up Windows explorer

2) Click Tools

3) Click Folder Options

4) Click Tab for File types

5) Click New and type "ipd"

6) Click "Ok"

7) See if you can restore the file now.

8)  If not, uninstall Desktop Manager, and reinstall the latest version for your new blackberry device. 

 

I am not sure of any other solution at this point.

Message Edited by metroberry on 04-22-2008 04:33 PM
Please use plain text.