Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Desktop Software for PC

Reply
New Contributor
SpeedyPete13
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
My Device: 9900 Bold
My Carrier: Bell

Desktop Manager 6 won't start

The blackberry splash screen pops up, followed by a second window that just remains completely white. Here is the contents of my Desktop.log file:

 

Date|Log Level|Thread ID|Module ID|Log ID|Message [2012-04-05 05:26:43.270]
05:26:43.282|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|1|Application Started
05:26:43.295|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|Commandline: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Research In Motion\BlackBerry Desktop\Rim.Desktop.exe"
05:26:43.295|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|Rim.Desktop.exe Version: 6.1.0.36
05:26:43.296|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|Product Installation Variant: none
05:26:43.297|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|OS Version: Windows7 [Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1] [x64]
05:26:43.297|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|CLR Version: 2.0.50727.5448
05:26:43.327|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|AppLoader Version: 6.0.1.33
05:26:43.330|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|Device Manager Version: 6.0.0.40
05:26:43.331|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|BBDevMgr Version: 4.2.0.15
05:26:43.332|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|Serial USB Driver Version: 2.3.0.9
05:26:43.333|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|USB Driver Version: 4.2.0.14
05:26:43.344|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Shell|2|PlayBook RNDIS Driver Interface: 1.0.0.16
05:26:43.870|ERROR|1|Rim.Desktop.Services.Configuration|0|Unable to get Registry entry. Path: Software\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\ Key: FirstLaunch
05:26:44.046|ERROR|1|Rim.Desktop.Services.Configuration|0|Unable to get Registry entry. Path: Software\Research In Motion\DesktopAutoUpdate Key: AutoUpdateEnabled
05:26:44.047|ERROR|1|Rim.Desktop.Services.Configuration|0|Unable to get Registry entry. Path: Software\Research In Motion\Device Manager\Bluetooth Key: Enabled
05:26:44.082|INFO |1|Rim.Desktop.Common|0|Setting Rendermode to SoftwareOnly for Window Rim.Desktop.Shell.Views.FirstLaunchOptionsView


Please use plain text.
Contributor
-Jerrelle
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-07-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 3G
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Desktop Manager 6 won't start

Hmm, have you tried reinstalling the software?or maybe try getting a downgrade of the blackberry desktop software, try upgrading your .NET framework etc.. These methods might work, sorry if they don't
Please use plain text.
Visitor
Frustratedd
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2012
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: Etisalat

Re: Desktop Manager 6 won't start

I've got the exact same problem... :'(  I had to flash my phone, and subsequently got an upgrade I'd been longing for... to 6.0. When I upgraded my desktop software to match my new phone upgrade, the software on my laptop JUST WOULDNT start!! The screen stays white. I've tried reinstalling from - the internet, and from -the cd, but it stays the same.    I decided to try a different approach, and connected the phone to my laptop, and now I cannot find my BBMessenger app, or my APPWorld button.    If I could find AppWorld, I'd probably just re-download BBM, but now they're both gone!   ...What do I do? Go back to version 5 on both counts? Does that imply I'd have to flash my phone again?  Just so *frustrated!!

Please use plain text.
PE
New Member
PE
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Desktop Manager 6 won't start

I have the exact same issue.  This is ridiculous-  Neither an unintall or repair seem to make a difference. The app just hangs.  RIM- are you going to fix this? 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
SpeedyPete13
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
My Device: 9900 Bold
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Desktop Manager 6 won't start

Yes I've uninstalled and reinstalled various times, I've completely removed and reinstalled all of my .NET framework components, and I've tried a lower version of the software, which didn't seem to work with my device (9900)
Please use plain text.