Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Desktop Software for PC

Reply
New Contributor
jgsantillana
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
My Device: TORCH
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

 

My desktop manager worked OK few days ago, noW it has the same error

I tried the OLD renaming suggestion, but it did not work, also I do not have the log file.  Please help!!

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
macspectrum
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

told my client to try the Mac version of the BB Desktop mgr and they said it worked without a hitch

 

no the answer many want to hear, but perhaps you know someone with a mac or maybe this is  a good reason to get one?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
roadshow
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: Blackberry Storm 9500
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

My daughter runs a mac but she uses the iphone. I thnk because of the problems everybody is having with the blackberry software they are moving over to the iphone. Seems sensible to me. I only started with the blackberry because my youngest daughter gave me her blacberry storm, otherwise i would not be here talking to to you now.

 

Regards Keviny

Kevin R Young
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
roadshow
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: Blackberry Storm 9500
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

Hi

I will give you the complete path to the file that requires the fix, if this does not help you, then I too am running out of suggestions.

The path is YOUR DRIVE\Program Files\Research in Motion\Blackberry Desktop\Modules then look for RimDesktopServicesPolicyManager.dll. After locating this file add the .old to the extension and hit enter. The file should look like "RimDesktopServicesPolicyManager.dll.old".Then go back and remove the .old and restore the file to its original name.

Barring this i have no other suggestions, sorry.

Hope this works for you.

Regards

Keviny

Kevin R Young
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jgsantillana
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
My Device: TORCH
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

Just in case someone is interested

 

I found a  log file in this directory  C:\Documents and Settings\user\Application Data\Rim.Desktop.Exception.log.

 

in this file I could find the error

 

System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Error reading the G:\ directory.

 

I just disconnected this drive and now the Desktop is working

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
macspectrum
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

"G:\" - sounds like a USB stick?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jgsantillana
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
My Device: TORCH
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

 

Yes,  I had an external disk mapped to this drive

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
macspectrum
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

 


jgsantillana wrote:

Just in case someone is interested

 

I found a  log file in this directory  C:\Documents and Settings\user\Application Data\Rim.Desktop.Exception.log.

 

in this file I could find the error

 

System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Error reading the G:\ directory.

 

I just disconnected this drive and now the Desktop is working


 

make sure that the settings for "Documents and Settings" folder is set to "show hidden files/folders"

 

the "Application Data" folder can be hidden on some systems

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
BBTorch9800user
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: ATT

Re: **SOLVED** Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

Your solution worked for me.  Thank you.  I tried all of the other recommendations mentioned above.  RIM should be ashamed of itself for deploying such a fragile piece of software.  I have the following software configuration on my PC:

Windows XP Pro SP3

.NET 3.5 SP1

Outlook 2002 (I know.  I have to upgrade),

 

I really don't think my configuration above matters at all.  I was able to run DTM V5 with no problem.  However, my problem began when I installed Version 6.  I tried the registry mods, directory deletions, uninstalling and reinstalling everything.  However, by changing the extension from .dll to .dll.old and then back to .dll. the application started up.  I can not believe it.  I hope other users try this.

Thanks,

Michael

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
roadshow
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: Blackberry Storm 9500
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: **SOLVED** Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

Hi Micheal,

Glad to hear that your up and running.

Yes!!! Blackberry has a lot to answer for.

How, by renaming a file extension fixes something so easarly is beyond me. Anyway, the thing is that it works. But, i cannot take the credit for the fix, this belongs to another blogger. All i have done is passed it on as best i can.

 

Regards

Keviny

Kevin R Young
Please use plain text.