Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Desktop Software for PC

Reply
New Contributor
terrapin7
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-29-2012
My Device: curve 8530
My Carrier: virgin mobile

I get an appcrash message when I try to launch the desktop software

[ Edited ]

(personal info removed)

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
FrankieS
Posts: 2,795
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: I get an appcrash message when I try to launch the desktop software

Hi terrapin7,

 

Welcome to the Support Community!

Can you provide more information please so I can better assist? What is the full error message you receive? What operating system are you using on your computer? Have you already tried to uninstall and reinstall the BlackBerry Desktop Software?

 

Thanks.


-FS


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
terrapin7
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-29-2012
My Device: curve 8530
My Carrier: virgin mobile

Re: I get an appcrash message when I try to launch the desktop software

Running Windows Vista.   Tried to uninstall and reinstall several times, no luck.  Also tried to install earlier verson of BB desktop software, results in same error message.  Here are the details of crash (posted with my original post, but it was removed as "personal" information by moderator)  Thank You

 

 

Problem signature:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

Application Name: Rim.Desktop.exe

Application Version: 7.1.0.37

Application Timestamp: 50ca51de

Fault Module Name: KERNEL32.dll

Fault Module Version: 6.0.6002.18704

Fault Module Timestamp: 5065ccb6

Exception Code: e0434f4d

Exception Offset: 0003fc16

OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
FrankieS
Posts: 2,795
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: I get an appcrash message when I try to launch the desktop software

Hi terrapin7,

 

Thanks for the clarification. Could you please provide the actual error message you receive in full when the BlackBerry Desktop Software stops working so I can better assist?

 

Thanks,


-FS


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
terrapin7
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-29-2012
My Device: curve 8530
My Carrier: virgin mobile

Re: I get an appcrash message when I try to launch the desktop software

Message reads "BlackBerry Desktop Software has stopped working"

 

Here are the details again

 

Problem signature:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

Application Name: Rim.Desktop.exe

Application Version: 7.1.0.37

Application Timestamp: 50ca51de

Fault Module Name: KERNEL32.dll

Fault Module Version: 6.0.6002.18704

Fault Module Timestamp: 5065ccb6

Exception Code: e0434f4d

Exception Offset: 0003fc16

OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
FrankieS
Posts: 2,795
Registered: ‎05-10-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: I get an appcrash message when I try to launch the desktop software

Hey terrapin7,

 

Can you please verify that the BlackBerry Desktop Software is installed in a user account with admin privileges? Here is a KB article that may help you out with this issue. "BlackBerry Desktop Software has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working." appears when launching BlackBerry Desktop Software" http://bbry.lv/ZZWKYn

If that doesn't help, I'd suggest contacting your wireless network provider to ask that they escalate this issue to RIM on your behalf for further investigation.

 

Thanks.

 


-FS


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.