Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Desktop Software for PC

Reply
Contributor
brkingsley
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: ATT

synch error

[ Edited ]

I love the Blackberry phone, but the desktop software sucks in a major way and will probably keep me from buying another BB.  I keep getting an error message when I synch, but there is no way to copy the error message (other than a screen shot)

 

any clue as to what is going on?  I have set this up and changed/ verified settings a dozen times.

TIA

 

 

 

~B
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,737
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: synch error

Hello,

 

I've seen other posts with that error...usually having to do with having done an update of the Desktop Software rather than a clean start over. I've recommended the clean startover to others, but haven't heard back as to if it actually worked or not for them yet. Nevertheless, the process I recommend is here:

Given the error, there is something missing in one of the configuration files. Therefore, I strongly suggest not skipping steps 4 and 6 in that process.

 

Good luck!

 

PS -- you should have sanitized that image before posting it...it reveals your BB PIN, which is considered personal information, which is contrary to the Ts and Cs of this site.

 

Cheers!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
brkingsley
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: ATT

Re: synch error

Ok, tried un installing and reinstalling.No go  

 

Problem seems to be that the program does not keep its settings even during a single session.  I set it to use one calendar as a default, but it tries to synch with both calendars.  Same with contact info.  have tried all setup permutations.  It messes up (locks up) or offers to synch with both.  Have managed to get it to synch a few times if I do just one (calendar or contacts) at a time. Erratic.

 

Frustrating.  Never had this problem with the Nokia I had (I didn't buy another cause they went with Wndows).

 

 

~B
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,737
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: synch error


brkingsley wrote:

Ok, tried un installing and reinstalling.No go   


OK...so, on the face of those words, that would include what, 2 of the 9 steps in what I recommended? As I'd mentioned before, steps 4 and 6 might be very important to success...and, from the face of your words, I can only deduce that you skipped those?


brkingsley wrote:

 

Problem seems to be that the program does not keep its settings even during a single session.


That is very odd. So, let me see...

  1. Launch Desktop Software
  2. Do some configurations
  3. Do some synchronization
  4. Without shutting down the Desktop Software, the configuration items are gone?

Is that what you are saying?


brkingsley wrote:

I set it to use one calendar as a default, but it tries to synch with both calendars.  Same with contact info.  have tried all setup permutations.  It messes up (locks up) or offers to synch with both.  Have managed to get it to synch a few times if I do just one (calendar or contacts) at a time. Erratic. 


Oh...that's some new information indeed from your prior post...perhaps this KB provides some insight?

  • KB17992 Using the Calendar application on a BlackBerry smartphone that supports multiple CICAL service books

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
brkingsley
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎05-31-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: ATT

Re: synch error

[ Edited ]

Yes, I know how to do a clean install and I followed "your" steps (it's pretty much a standard thing) including removing the personalized settings and running my registry cleaner.

 

And the steps would be either:.

  1. Launch Desktop Software
  2. Do /check the configurations
  3. tell it to do synchronization on contact list and then calendar
  4. Software locks up on Calendar (second sych)
  5. Without shutting down the Desktop Software, the configuration setting of the first item (contact list) is now gone. 

or Launch Desktop Software

    1. Do /check the configurations
    2. tell it to do synchronization on first item (say contact list) 
    3. Success on that
    4. Manually do second synch on calendar Calendar (second sych which usually works)
    5. Without shutting down the Desktop Software, the configuration setting of the first item (contact list) is now gone. 

Interesting that you should have assume I only followed two steps.  Guess it's always easy to solve these things if you blame the user.


~B
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,737
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: synch error

I'm sorry if I've offended you...what I don't want ever to do is assume anything. We get folks of all sorts of expertise here, and I've learned that it's always best to be crystal clear about everything. I cannot possibly count the times when I've received a reply such as yours, assumed they did everything, only to find out hours (or days) later that they skipped something important. So, I've taken the approach of not assuming anything from anyone...and requesting clarification whenever I am the least bit unsure (and, in my requests for clarification, I try to be equally clear about what I read from what was said). If my words offended you, then I deeply apologize. If you don't wish to continue with me, I also understand...I await your decision.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.