Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
stephandra
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-29-2013
My Device: BOLD 9700
My Carrier: MTN

Blackberry bold 2, 9700

[ Edited ]

My blackberry bold 2 always goes off whenever i want to upgrade an application, I have not been able to upgrade all my applications ever since i bought it. thank you

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
gutijose14
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry Q10 (OS 10.2.1.3247)
My Carrier: Movilnet

Re: Blackberry bold 2, 9700

Hello Stephandra

 

Welcome to http://supportforums.blackberry.com/

 

What version of OS you have installed on your 9700?
What you try to update applications?

If your problem evidences the persistence you'll have to make an OS upgrade to your.

 

Regards. 

 


  • Response you like me? Want THANK? Click like.jpg
  • If it was the SOLUTION click "Accept as Solution"!

#bbm.original.png4LL original.png  #ichooseBlackBerry10 @Gutijose14


 


BBM Channels  PIN: C0007093A
Do not forget to give LIKE   Like Those people who help you and advise you about your doubts. Accept as Solution if the review has been SOLVED** # BBM 4LL4LL BlackBerry #ÉliteRoad Elite Make a backup of your BlackBerry
BlackBerry Protect and  BlackBerry Link constantly. BlackBerry #ichooseBlackBerry10 Gutijose14 Forums Advisor III  Gutijose14

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
stephandra
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-29-2013
My Device: BOLD 9700
My Carrier: MTN

Re: Blackberry bold 2, 9700

 

Hello,

 

Thanks for your response, I tried to upgrade my BBM, Twitter and facebook but the phone kept on reboothing anytime i try to upgrade them. I have not been able to upgrade or install any application, eversince I bought the phone.

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
stephandra
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-29-2013
My Device: BOLD 9700
My Carrier: MTN

Re: Blackberry bold 2, 9700

How do i upgrade my OS

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
gutijose14
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry Q10 (OS 10.2.1.3247)
My Carrier: Movilnet

Re: Blackberry bold 2, 9700

Hi Stephandra

 

Here the method of updating BB.


The simplest way is to, on a PC (you cannot do this on MAC):


1) Make sure you have a current and complete backup of your BB...you can find complete instructions via the link in my auto-sig below.

2) Uninstall, from your PC, any BB OS packages

3) Make sure you have the BB Desktop Software already installed

4) Download and install, to your PC, the BB OS package you desire:

  • http://us.blackberry.com/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp
  • It is sorted first by carrier -- so if all you want are the OS levels your carrier supports, your search will be quick. However, some carriers are much slower than others to release updates. To truly seek out the most up-to-date OS package for your BB, you must dig through and find all carriers that support your specific model BB, and then compare the OS levels that they support.

5) Delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

6a) For changing your installed BB OS level (upgrade or downgrade), you can launch the Desktop Software and connect your BB...the software should offer you the OS package you installed to your PC.

6b) Or, for reloading your currently installed BB OS level as well as for changing it, bypass the Desktop Software and use LOADER.EXE directly, by proceeding to step 2 in this process:

If, during the processes of 6a or 6b, your BB presents a "507" error, simply unplug the USB cord from the BB and re-insert it...don't do anything else...this should allow the install to continue.



You may also want to investigate the use of BBSAK (bbsak.org) to perform the wipe it is capable of.



You may also want to try the "Bare Bones OS Reload Procedure" to attempt to narrow down the precise causal item:

  1. Load your OS "bare bones"...if anything is optional, do not install it.
  2. If the behavior presents immediately, then try a different OS with step 1
  3. If the behavior does not immediately present, then run for as long as it takes for you to be sure that the behavior will not present.
  4. Add one thing -- no matter how tempting, just one.
  5. If the behavior does not present immediately, then again run for long enough to be sure it will not have the same problem
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all things are loaded or the behavior presents

When the behavior presents, you know the culprit...the last thing you loaded.

If the behavior does not re-present, then you know that either step 1 or 2 cured it.

If the behavior presents no matter what, then you likely have a hardware level issue for which no amount of OS or software can cure.



You may also need the use of these tricks:



If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


 

 

By sdgardne Hall of Famer II

 

Regards. 

 


  • Response you like me? Want THANK? Click like.jpg
  • If it was the SOLUTION click "Accept as Solution"!

#bbm.original.png4LL original.png  #ichooseBlackBerry10 @Gutijose14


 


BBM Channels  PIN: C0007093A
Do not forget to give LIKE   Like Those people who help you and advise you about your doubts. Accept as Solution if the review has been SOLVED** # BBM 4LL4LL BlackBerry #ÉliteRoad Elite Make a backup of your BlackBerry
BlackBerry Protect and  BlackBerry Link constantly. BlackBerry #ichooseBlackBerry10 Gutijose14 Forums Advisor III  Gutijose14

Please use plain text.