Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 16,229
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: Facebook Application

It's being looked into.

For now, the workaround is to use wifi. It seems to be an issue with accessing over the mobile network. Hopefully it will get fixed soon.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 16,229
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: Facebook Application


RichBitchCazz wrote:

on facebook blackberry page a woman has said she turned her WI-FI ON !!!  surely this shouldnt make a difference except that she may incur a very high phone bill from using it !!!


It does make a difference and why would that make her incur a very high phone bill? 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
RichBitchCazz
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
My Device: curve 9300

Re: Facebook Application

IF you turn on WI-FI check that you have unlimited internet cause im sure your network provider will charge If you're using your provider's network  Edge or 2G/3G then you are charged according to your plan.

This is what im only thinking may happen i may be wrong

Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 16,229
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: Facebook Application

WiFi is wireless internet access (e.g. at home Internet, coffee shops, airports, restaurants, etc.) Mobile Network is your cell phone carrier connection (EDGE, 3G, 4G, etc.)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 16,229
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: Facebook Application

Updated Info:

This error is caused by a Facebook server error (API errors) and is not an error on the BlackBerry server side.

See the following KB for more info: http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB25378

Again, from what I've been told the issue is being worked on. Right now the workaround is to use WiFi (you may have to turn off the mobile network completely.) For some reason the mobile network connection to FaceBook isn't working as expected.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,406
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z30, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: B&You _ SFR

Re: Facebook Application


RichBitchCazz wrote:

IF you turn on WI-FI check that you have unlimited internet cause im sure your network provider will charge If you're using your provider's network  Edge or 2G/3G then you are charged according to your plan.

This is what im only thinking may happen i may be wrong


no that is not correct. If you use Wifi, the price is the price of the Wifi provider. If you are at home, in a library, in a McDonald's, in a Starbuck, using Wifi is free.

 

if you are in a Hilton hotel, you will have to pay before you can use their Wifi.

 

if you use Wifi, your mobile phone carrier will not charge you (at all).

 

 

*****

 

on the other hand, some smartphones can act as a Wifi hotspot. (ie others connect to your own Wifi). In that case:

  • it is free for the others
  • you may have additional charges to pay to your carrier (converting cell data to wifi data).

Of course, this is a specific setting that needs to be done by you, so it is not possible for this to happen unless you explicitely configure it.




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 16,229
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: Facebook Application


Xandrex wrote:

if you are in a Hilton hotel, you will have to pay before you can use their Wifi.

 



Not if you are a Diamond Member like me!!  :Clap::Rockon:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 16,229
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: Facebook Application

The issue has been resolved.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Chimwemwe1
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-08-2012
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Facebook Application

Yes
Regular Contributor
Tigershark24
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎02-01-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Facebook Application

There are serious issues with the Facebook app. Keeps being inaccessible via app and then there are problems with functionality.