Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Reply
New Contributor
athilla
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Bell

Google Maps not working after BB Os upgrade / What else can I use to show traffic on map?

Hi All,

I just upgraded the OS on my Bold 9000 and now google maps crahes at the "terms and conditions" screen ("serious error:, then closes).  I've tried the JAD fixes to no luck.  From what I am reading this is a known issue, but I don't see any indication that Google will fix the issue.  In ther inteim, what app can I use to overlay traffic information ono a graphical map?  (BB maps does not seem to have this feature).  This was such an amazingly useful feature and I am very sad now... :smileysad: Can someone advise on 1. Will the issue be fixed 2. Do I have a real alternative to Google Maps to overlay traffic onto a map?

Thanks!

Athilla

Montreal, Canada

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: Google Maps not working after BB Os upgrade / What else can I use to show traffic on map?

1. I don't know if the issue will be fixed.

2. you live in one of the two countries in the world where BlackBerry Trafic is available. Give it a try ! http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/13110/?lang=en



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
athilla
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Google Maps not working after BB Os upgrade / What else can I use to show traffic on map?

Thanks for #2. I tried BB traffic and it's interesting for sure. But what I am looking for is something which will visually show the traffic conditions around the city like on Google maps... So I can plan my travels visually. BB traffic only seems to show traffic on the plotted routes (unless I am missing something). Can it overlay onto BB maps? Is anything available which will do that? Thanks again!
Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: Google Maps not working after BB Os upgrade / What else can I use to show traffic on map?

BlackBerry Maps has the ability to import KML layers. So if you find a KML traffic provider for your region, yes, you will be able to view the traffic as a layer in BB Maps.

As far as I know, this cannot be done with BB Traffic. But since I am not living in a country where BB Traffic is available, I am not sure.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
athilla
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-14-2012
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Google Maps not working after BB Os upgrade / What else can I use to show traffic on map?

Thanks - I'll look into it further (quick seach on the web does not seem to give me a quick link for a KML provider for Canada/Quebec).  Does anyone know what Google uses as their KLM provider?  It would be nice if BB maps would support traffic overlay natively like Google Maps does... I think people would adopt it much faster .. Anyway, just my two cents.  Thanks all

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: Google Maps not working after BB Os upgrade / What else can I use to show traffic on map?

Google is its own KML provider... they have partnerships with several traffic monitoring companies.

Remember that Google is far ahead of RIM in the maps business. :smileywink:



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.