Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Downloaded applications

My Device: BlackBerry 9320 OS 7.1
My Carrier: WIND Mobile

BlackBerry Update Process, Strange BB ID Upgrade

I've had some prior bad experience with a certain person tampering with my mobile which they had physical access to so I've switched to BB (9320 w/ OS7.1) and also am weary of suspicious behaviour. This week I've been getting strange "official-looking" messages (notifications?) asking to upgrade my BlackBerryID. I opened the message and clicked "upgrade" fully planning on cancelling once it hit the "enter device password" step in the process...only problem is that it never did. It downloaded, "installed", and asked me to reboot which I did.

Is this "normal" or have I just installed an exploit/malware on my BB?

Did RIM just release a new version of BlackBerry ID last week? How do I tell what version is installed? How do I tell if it's legit?

Why does it not show up in any app list? Aren't all apps supposed to be installed/updated/removed through App World? Isn't a device password required for all modifications? What's with the inconsistency? How is it possible for an app to update/install without this requirement?
Hall of Famer II
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BlackBerry Update Process, Strange BB ID Upgrade

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

That's a lot of questions...I'll try to answer them one by one...but, in general, I think that it's all legit.

Kab00sh wrote:
I've had some prior bad experience with a certain person tampering with my mobile which they had physical access to so I've switched to BB (9320 w/ OS7.1) and also am weary of suspicious behaviour.