Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Downloaded applications

Reply
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: telenor

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

And I also remember that when I wiped the phone, I took out the sd card and did not insert it because it wasn't scaned but still the problem remainded that appworld, fb worked for a day!
And it its a hardware problem then it should have the issue permanantly but its not and browser works all the time without any problem but appworld.... I don't get it! Either it may be a sim problem but the error says connect to a wireless network! Smiley Tongue
I think I am going to strike my head towards the wall!
Now tomorrow I wll try to update it with my friend and will not put the card and change the sim as well! Let's hope that it resolves!
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 3,802
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

"And it its a hardware problem then it should have the issue permanantly"

This isn't true.  Faulty hardware can cause all kinds of issues...expected and unexpected.

You've already reloaded the software, but feel free to do it again.  I don't think it will help because you've already done this.  Until you have the hardware checked out by the store or authorized repair shop, I have no other suggestions.
I will ask jsanders to look at this too.

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution!
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Posts: 90,664
Likes: 23,981
Solutions: 6,171
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

I looked. Smiley Happy




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Posts: 90,664
Likes: 23,981
Solutions: 6,171
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

Seriously though, why not give us a synopsis refresh of the issue at this point?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Highlighted
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: telenor

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

The issue is same old one again!
After a battery pull restart app world works but after a day it stops!
I tried to take pictures with the phone one day and the phone hanged camera was open and image was shown on the screen clearly and was also moving as I move the device but it was neither going back to home nor it was taking pics! I rebooted the phone and it showed the error that card will not work due to fatal error!
I again rebooted the device this with taking out and reinserting the sd card and it worked normally. But after a day it started giving that old error connect to a wireless network! One of my friend told me tht u may have the problem with the card ( I am not sure what card he meant).
What do you think is there a link between the error and the sd card! Although after OS refresh app world worked fine for more than a day!
Hope it is clear to you! Will be seeking your opinion Jsanders!
Guru I
Posts: 19,013
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

remove the card for a few days, if the problem does not happen during that period, then you have your answer. Smiley Happy



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: telenor

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

Yes i can get the answer like this but I remember that when I wiped thw phone once I didn't put the card in the device because it wasn't scanned and still I had the problem! Hope after the update it resolves!
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: telenor

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

I might have been possible that before wiping the card might have shown its effects on the device and the remained after wiping also. But after the refresh of OS they might have been removed!
Right now I am just waiting for Jsanders opinion about the link with the card then I will try to make the update! Hope that you have got the brief ( not sure if its brief ) refresh of the issue in my above post!
Posts: 90,664
Likes: 23,981
Solutions: 6,171
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

I'd format the SD card and wipe the BlackBerry and reload the OS up to the most recent release on the OS. Wipe the device to error 507 then reload.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: telenor

Re: Hello i am new on BB and having this problem please any one can help me out!

Ok so I'll try to update the OS to the latest version, .723 if I am able to do so, otherwise to .688. And I will not put my old card istead I'll buy a new one for the device... Please tell me does the sim card may have the link with that? Do I need to put some other sim in my phone or use the one which I am using right now?