11-12-2012 05:48 AM
If it is showing the apps he was using then do a security wipe by going to Options, Security Options, Security Wipe (might be different route for OS6). Once you wipe setup your own BIS, download appworld and login if you already have an appworld account then your apps will load. For detail info check the followng Site or the knowledge article KB23677
11-12-2012 05:56 AM
It should work so long you have Desktop Manager installed on a PC. I hope you are taking permanent ownership of the device too and if your friend does not need more information from that phone because wiping is like restoring to factory mode, all previous data would be lost.