Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

Developer
bnolan001
My Device: Bold 9930 and PlayBook

MMS/SMS message ringtone goes off but no message appears

I've been battling this problem for several months now.  For some reason, occassionaly when I get a text message the ringtone goes off but I don't see any message in my message inbox.  If I have an idea who sent it I'll text them to resend it and then the second time it comes through.  This happens for both SMS and MMS messages and from people who I text all the time.  I've tried pulling the battery multiple times but that didn't help.  I thought the latest OS update from Verizon would help but it didn't.  I've checked my memory and I still have plenty of memory left on the device.  I am starting to delete Apps I don't regularly use but that hasn't helped yet.  Does anyone else have any ideas?  One other weird thing that happened before the update from Verizon but not since then is that when I'd send a text to a single person, if there was a previous time when I had sent or received a text from them and several others were included in that text, then the new text would be associated with that group instead of the individual person.

Here is what I'm using:

BlackBerry Bold 9930 OS 7.1 Bundle 1737 on Verizon

Aces 3D Pool

AP Mobile World Edition

Bejeweled

BeWeather

BB App World/BB Application Resource Monitor/BB Bridge/BB Device Analyzer/BB Maps/BB News/BB Protect/BB S/MIME/BB Traffic/BB Travel/BB Wallet/BrickBreaker

Bubble Bash

Dropbox

Endomondo Sports Tracker

Evernote

Facebook

Fixmo Tools

Flashlight

Google Maps

GPSLogger II

IM Plus lite

Kayak Travel

Kobo

Mahjong Solitaire

Mobile Mason

My Verizon

Next Dual Pack

Nobex Radio

Pandora

Password Keeper

Photo Editor Ultimate

Poynt

QR Code Scanner

ScoreMobile

Shazam Encore

SimCity Delux

Slacker Radio

Southwest Airlines