Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Nadirfirfire
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: ZAIN
Accepted Solution

Application Deployment

Hi,

I have an application which i developed using eclipse 3.4.1 whenever i run my application using the eclipse plugin it works fine(the application has web services).

 

but when i launch my application using the standlone simulator i can open webpages but my application is not runnning can anyone point me in the right direction.

 

 

Rgds

Nadir

Please use plain text.
Developer
JCarty
Posts: 1,055
Registered: ‎01-25-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9650/BlackBerry Torch 9800

Re: Application Deployment

Are you receiving any error messages? What is your application supposed to do?

Jerome Carty - Follow jcarty on Twitter@jcarty | #webworks-dev / #BlackberryDev on irc.freenode.net | My Apps
Click "Accept as Solution" if post solved your original issue.. Give like/thumbs up if you feel post is helpful
Please use plain text.
Developer
Nadirfirfire
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: ZAIN

Re: Application Deployment

Hi,

Its not giving any error messages it will just send a request to a web page and send responses to my application.

 

rgds

Nadir

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,601
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Application Deployment

"Its not giving any error messages"

 

Are you sure?

 

Use the EventLogger class to write debug messages to the Log, and then track the progress of your connection.

 

Do you try Exceptions from your connection and do something on these?

 

I would expect at least a 'timeout' Exception if there is no response.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Nadirfirfire
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: ZAIN

Re: Application Deployment

Hi Peter,

Nothing as such. no exceptions i am using exceptions to catch but there are none.

url=url.concat(";deviceside=true;interface=wifi");

 

this is what iam concating to my URL.

 

Is there something wrong here

 

rgds

Nadir

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,601
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Application Deployment

Have you enabled WiFi for the Simulator as described in the Simulator section of this Thread?  Does the Simulator support WiFi?

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Connecting-your-BlackBerry-http-and-socket-c...

 

Also I would recommend that you try it with just ";deviceside=true".  For me that always works on the Simulator.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Nadirfirfire
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: ZAIN

Re: Application Deployment

Hi Peter,

I have done that but still no luck and the wifi connection is working since i can browse the web from the simulator.

 

rgds

Nadir

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,601
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Application Deployment

[ Edited ]

To use the same connection as the Browser, you should not code a connection suffix.  Give that a try.  Don't think the Simulator Browser ever uses WiFi, so the fact that it is working is not a true test of WiFi connectivity.

 

What Simulator are you using?  Does it have the same level (or higher) OS than your development platform?  What is the Simulator that your development platform starts by default?

 

Edit: Just tested, it seems the OS 5.0 Simulators do have WiFi enabled by default for the Browser.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Nadirfirfire
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: ZAIN

Re: Application Deployment

Hi Peter,

lackBerry Smartphone Simulators 5.0.0\5.0.0.411 (8900)

OS is 5.0.0.411

this one iam using.

and for development platform iam using. smartphone 8300 and OS v 4.5.0.44

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,601
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Application Deployment

Given you are developing in 4.5 and running on OS 5.0, things should work.

 

However the 8300 does not supprt wifi.  You said this code was working when you ran it using the development platform Simulator.  How does that work then?

 

Have you tried not coding a connection suffix?

Please use plain text.