Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎02-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Application Permission

Hi All

 

My application runs in background and it will start on device startup.

In this case when should I invoke this method

ApplicationPermissionsManager.getInstance().invokePermissionsRequest( permRequest );

 

when I press the app cion before pushing a screen

or In the background app 

or any other way

Developer
Posts: 19,631
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Application Permission

You ask for permissions for your application as a whole, and you should ask for these before any part of your application runs.  Since you are likely to start you background processing when the app is first installed, perhaps you should ask in there?

Developer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎02-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Application Permission

Is it possible to invok that method befor entering event dispatcher

Developer
Posts: 16,786
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Application Permission

no
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Developer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎02-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Application Permission

should I push any screen before callling it or Can I enter event dipatcher with background running application without UI and call this method

Developer
Posts: 19,631
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Application Permission

[ Edited ]

I don't do it, but I understand that you can call it from the background.

 

I never do this because I don't start the background processing until the permissions have been obtained and I get that from the foreground processing as part of setup - in other words, I force the users to go through a Setup, which includes permissions, before I start any background processing.