Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Contributor
Kardon
My Device: 8830 WE
Accepted Solution

Application keeps launching during startup of device, also need advice for implementing network methods

Hi all,

I'm new to Blackberry development and I'm currently writting a fairly simple application to run on 7.1.

So far development has been interesting, I've managed to create my UI with the help of resources online (mainly this forum), but today I started trying to implement some of the networking classes that I'll need and now I've just run into constant issues.

I'm using Eclipse SDK 3.7.2 (the one that comes bundled with the RIM plugin)

First issue:

I'm not sure what I changed, but today I've noticed that every time I start the simulator (using 9360 sim) my application gets started during the intial startup process. I don't think it was doing this before, but to be honest I wasn't paying much attention. Reason I think it's starting during the device startup is because I've set a breakpoint in the constructor for my main screen class, which gets hit before the simulator even gets to the point where it's ready for user interaction. Also, once it is ready, if I hold the BB button down, I see my application listed.

I don't have it set to auto launch in the Application descriptior .xml.

I started this application from the HelloBlackBerry sample, here is my main method for application entry:

public static void main( String[] args ) {
        appSettings = AppSettings.fetch();
        // Create a new instance of the application and make the currently
        // running thread the application's event dispatch thread.
        HelloBlackBerry theApp = new HelloBlackBerry();
        theApp.enterEventDispatcher();
        //openConnection();

}