Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Regular Contributor
heather_1
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: XXX

BB maps not working on real device

Hello,

 

I am trying to use BB maps with my application, and the maps seem to be working fine in the simulator, but not in my device( which is the Tour). The maps with begin to load, but nothing shows up on the map. Here is my code:

			        // Invokes BlackBerry Maps application using a MapView object
				
			        
			        		MapView mapview = new MapView();
			        		mapview.setLatitude((int)(100000 * location.latitude()));
			                mapview.setLongitude((int)(100000 * location.longitude()));
			                mapview.setZoom(3);
			                
			                // Invoke maps application with specified MapView
			                Invoke.invokeApplication(Invoke.APP_TYPE_MAPS, new MapsArguments(mapview));

 

Any ideas?

Please use plain text.
Developer
rihan007
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB

Re: BB maps not working on real device

For maps to work you need a blackberry data plan. 

 

Guys correct me if i am wrong.!!!

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
heather_1
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: XXX

Re: BB maps not working on real device

Ok that is good to know- both of my test devices don't have a plan with them. Hopefully that is the only issue.

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
galeb
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
My Device: 9810 Torch
My Carrier: VIPnet

Re: BB maps not working on real device

Hi!

 

You do not need a data plan, as long as you are connected over WiFi it will work.

Hint: close all other connections (or even take the SIM card out), and the maps should work for you.

Of course, I'm assuimg you need this more for testing, than for the real usage... as for the real usage you SHOULD get a BB data plan.... ;-)

Please use plain text.
Developer
rihan007
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: Apple iPhone 3GS 16GB

Re: BB maps not working on real device

May be becuase maps are cached when used with SIM. I have never managed to get maps over wifi for a fresh device without sim. So maps will not work without BIS

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
galeb
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎11-03-2009
My Device: 9810 Torch
My Carrier: VIPnet

Re: BB maps not working on real device

No, it is a completely wiped device, 9850 (all touch Torch, with a large screen, OS 7.0, no SIM, WiFi only).

However, it is connected to a BB ID.

Please use plain text.