Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,757
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Bad DNS Address

Quote from the previous forum:


manupeco

Posts: 4
Registered: Jul, 2007

Bad DNS Address
Posted: Jul 31, 2008 7:19 AM
 
Hi,
My application perform a connection test opening a direct tcp connection to our server and I get a positive respone, the connection is correctly open. After that I close the connection and the user can insert some data and send again to the server.

At this point I open another connection like the previous one but in this case I get often a "IOException: Bad DNS Address".

My TCP settings are ok.

Sometimes restarting the application the connection is ok. Other times we to turn the network off and turn it on again and try to connect again or in the worst case we have to take the battery off and perform a hard reset.

Does anyone have any idea to solve this or it is a blackberry devices problem?

Thanks

Regards,
Emanuele Pecorari

 


fpotter

Posts: 29
From: Mountain View, CA
Registered: Feb, 2008

Re: Bad DNS Address
Posted: Jul 31, 2008 4:46 PM
 
Which network are you on? I've seen this exception occur on AT&T devices. RIM said it was due to an issue with AT&T's DNS server. I actually thought the issue had disappeared, because I haven't seen it myself in a few weeks.

Unfortunately, I don't think there's a fix...

 

manupeco

Posts: 4
Registered: Jul, 2007

Re: Bad DNS Address
Posted: Aug 1, 2008 4:54 AM
 
Hi,
I'm using a Vodafone Netherlands Sim Card. Sould I check directly with the operator or with RIM?

Thanks
Emanuele Pecorari
My Linkedin profile: http://www.linkedin.com/in/emanuelepecorari
My Blog: http://j2mesoccer.splinder.com

Please contact your carrier in regards to this issue.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Developer
kzettel
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: 9000

Re: Bad DNS Address

When you get this error on AT&T you can usually make the same http request again (immediately) and it will work.  We have not had people complain with this problem since we added this logic.
Kurt Zettel | Chief Architect | Metova
www.metova.com