Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
hendrikrichert
My Device: Not Specified

Best practices on cookie handling for java applications

Hi everyone!

I'm new to BlackBerry development and I am supposed to write an application that will interact with a JSON API of a given webservice.

Ive imported the JSON.ME package and it works great. But for authorization I'm not sure which way to go.

How is cookie handling "normaly" done on a BlackBerry device? I know the MDS Service takes care of cookies by default. But what about the Internet Service? If you have a BlackBerry device, does it matter which of the internet/mds services you have to get cookies handled by the server? I kind of need the big picture, and i cant seem to figure it out!

So in short: Can I rely on cookies being handled by all the different kinds of blackberry service solutions out there, or do I have to implement cookie handling myself for the application, in order to support devices that are not connected to a MDS service?

Thanks in advance,

Hendrik

BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: Best practices on cookie handling for java applications

The application should handle the authentication and cookie storage itself.  The Mobile Data System of a BlackBerry Enterprise Server can handle cookies for the BlackBerry Browser, however this does not apply to third party applications. 
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
hendrikrichert

Thanks for the reply!