Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
meaves
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎11-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

BlackBerry Simulator Issues on Windows 7 64-bit

Hi,

Our company has run into several issues running BlackBerry simulators on Windows 7 64-bit. The screen often freezes, the simulator often crashes, and our apps often go missing on the device. It has become a serious problem for our company since it is impacting our demo & pre-sales work.

 

Are there certain simulator versions that work properly and are supported?

 

Thanks,

Mark

Please use plain text.
Developer
jtp5120
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎05-02-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BlackBerry Simulator Issues on Windows 7 64-bit

[ Edited ]

 

  • Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600)
  • Java: Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_22-b04)
  • Eclipse Build id: 20090619-0625
  • BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.1.2.201004161203-16
  • Java Compiler level: 1.3
  • BlackBerry OS: Targeting devices running OS 5
  • Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9550, 8900, 8520
Mark,

What I have found to help is to run the 32-bit JRE for the environment, the simulators I don't believe work with 64-bit? I could be wrong.

I also start the simulators, any that I have listed above, with fledge right out of the directory (for example): C:\Program Files (x86)\Research In Motion\BlackBerry JDE 5.0.0\simulator and then control them with fledgecontroller.

Starting the simulators by right-clicking a project in eclipse and selecting Run or Debug ends up freezing both the IDE and simulator. (I need help there, but haven't found anything concrete.)

Resetting the simulator to delete the .dmp files doesn't seem to work either.

These are a few things I've found, but if you have any suggestions, I'd appreciate the help as well.

Thanks.

 

--Todd

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit (6.1 Build 7600) | Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) | Eclipse Version: 3.6.2 [M20110210-1200] | BlackBerry Eclipse Plug-in: 1.3.0.201102031007-19 | Java Compiler level: 1.3 | Targeting devices running OS 5 | Simulators: JDE 5.0 packaged 9700, 9630, 9300
Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,804
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.2174, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.0.700 Dev OS, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BlackBerry Simulator Issues on Windows 7 64-bit

As @jtp5120 says, use the 32bit JDK (for development) and 32bit JRE (for running apps). RIM says to do it otherwise it could malfunction. As for the disappearing apps, make sure the app projects are "active" and if all else fails run the clean.bat file.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.