Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
ashish12169
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-18-2012
My Device: 8520

Blackberry Gps location..

Hi,

        i am programatically finding the GPs location and it works fine when i have airtel network but when i switch to aircel network it fails to find GPS location...

pls suggest..

Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,609
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry Gps location..

Which of the possible criteria are you using to find a location?

 

What phone and level of OS are you using?  Is it different between the two tests?

 

What actually happens when you try to find a location?

 

Have you tried the Diagnostic tool you will find here:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Location-APIs-Start-to-finish/ta-p/571949

Developer
ashish12169
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-18-2012
My Device: 8520

Re: Blackberry Gps location..

it give the exception time out while waiting
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,609
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry Gps location..

[ Edited ]

Can we have a full response to all my questions please. 

 

Also I have another question - what is the timeout value specified?

Developer
ashish12169
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-18-2012
My Device: 8520

Re: Blackberry Gps location..

Hi ,
below is the code that i used.
it give timeout exception on aircel netwrok but works fine on airtel network...

BlackBerryCriteria myCriteria = new BlackBerryCriteria();
myCriteria.setHorizontalAccuracy(30000);
myCriteria.setVerticalAccuracy(30000);
myCriteria.setCostAllowed(true);
myCriteria.setPreferredPowerConsumption(Criteria.POWER_USAGE_HIGH);
myCriteria.setMode(GPSInfo.GPS_MODE_CELLSITE);

BlackBerryLocationProvider myProvider;
myProvider = (BlackBerryLocationProvider) LocationProvider.getInstance(myCriteria);

BlackBerryLocation myLocation;
myLocation = (BlackBerryLocation) myProvider.getLocation(-1);
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,609
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry Gps location..

And the other questions?

Developer
ashish12169
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-18-2012
My Device: 8520

Re: Blackberry Gps location..

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I am using Blackberry Bold ( 9700 ) having os 6.0.

I case of Airtel it works fine but when i use the aircel sim it gives  exception timeout while fetching the location

 

Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,609
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry Cellsite location..

[ Edited ]

I suspect the timeout occurs immediately.  Can you confirm this. 

 

Does the aircel SIM have a full BlackBerry plan including BBM and Browser?  I suspect not. 

 

I recommend that you download and install the Diagnostic tool from the link I supplied earlier and test that. 

 

And just for clarification, you are using Cell Site location, not GPS location, so the subject of this Thread is not correct. 

Developer
ashish12169
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎03-18-2012
My Device: 8520

Re: Blackberry Cellsite location..

Hi,
timeout occurs afters some time.
No ,i donot have Blackberry Plan in Aircel Sim.
I have also tried GPSInfo.GPS_MODE_ASSIST...
pls, suggest
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,609
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry Cellsite location..

BB Cell Site location, is, as far as I am aware, only available, for phones with full BlackBerry plan.  As I understand it, it uses a crowd sources Cell tower look up supported by RIM - hence reason it is only available on BlackBerry plan. 

 

Recommendation is before, use the Diagnostic tool on the aircel Simi and fnd out what you can do. 

 

Or upgrade Sim to BB plan of course.