Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Regular Contributor
Utumno
My Device: Torch

Blackberry device matrix & info for a beginner

Hello All Blackberry devs,

I am a developer who has published several games to Nokia's Ovi and the Android Market. Now I am thinking to port some of them to Blackberry. I don't have much experience with berries though, just playing around with a borrowed Torch for a few days ( it's nice :smileywink:

The first thing I would need to do is research the devices in the field. Specifically:

- each model's CPU, RAM

- what sensors does it have ( esp. the accelerometer )

- does it have a touchscreen

- screen resolution

some info about market penetration, i.e. how many of each device has been sold woudn't hurt either :smileyhappy:

Only knowing this, am I able to figure out which application stands a chance to be ported.

Thus a question: could anyone point me at some webpage/document where those kinds of things are explained?

L.

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1154, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: Blackberry device matrix & info for a beginner

Hello and welcome,

Though there are differences (especially in terms of GUI since there is no GUI builder) it is relatively close to Android if you are going to port apps.

On to your points:

Recently RIM updated http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Choosing-a-Target-Device-OS-now-updated/td-p... and it would be a good place to look.

Screen sizes: Unfortunately I couldn't find it in a quick search but there is an article/post that talks about the different screen sizes.