Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Highlighted
New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

CAN I MAKE A FORTUNE BEING A SOLO MOBILE DEVELOPER?

Hi..perhaps not the right forum to ask this question...

I'm still kinda new and wanna know what i'm getting into...i'm kinda curious about the viability of being a solo mobile developer - not working for a company?

... does anyone make money from developing BB apps as a solo developer and selling it or does anyone know somebody who makes money just by developing apps for blackberry or any other mobile device...anyone?

If you do, can u kindly give a rough estimate of how much money is realisable...and perhaps your own little story how u got started...I'm a J2ME developer and the highest i've done is an app for my Msc. project....twas a good app though...thanks!

N.B: Please if you have links to sites that tell about the viability of this venture...i mean being a solo developer and making good money out of it, wldn't mind that too....

Developer
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: CAN I MAKE A FORTUNE BEING A SOLO MOBILE DEVELOPER?

I suppose, like anything, it depends on the kinds of ideas you come up with.  A trite response, I know.

Developer

Sure, we're ALL bazillionaires!!!!

Developer

[ Edited ]

You know, I was thinking the usual things, you need to have a good idea, you need to be a good coder, but then, I remembered:

* most Blackberry paid apps seem pretty simple and useless to me. Look at the Best Selling Apps here http://software.crackberry.com/platformMain.asp?platform=5&section=bestsellers for example.

* because of this, it doesn't take a talented coder to string some code along to make a vaguely functional application.