Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
LtSolo
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-04-2008
My Device: Curve 9000
Accepted Solution

COD file size

Hello All, M Sohm,

 

I know this question was discussed many times. As I know JDE since 4.1 should build sibling COD files which comply all possible rules (http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgecenterpublic/livelink.exe/fetch/2000/348583/800708/800646/What_Is...). However today I received a response from BB App Store stuff that my COD files should be less than 64KB. A part of my JAD file is:

------

RIM-COD-URL-7: ACCBB-7.cod
RIM-COD-URL-6: ACCBB-6.cod
RIM-COD-URL-5: ACCBB-5.cod
RIM-COD-URL-4: ACCBB-4.cod
RIM-COD-URL-3: ACCBB-3.cod
RIM-COD-URL-2: ACCBB-2.cod
RIM-COD-URL-1: ACCBB-1.cod
RIM-COD-Size-7: 53260
RIM-COD-Size-6: 47392
RIM-COD-Size-5: 54344
RIM-COD-Size-4: 55860
RIM-COD-Size-3: 49616
RIM-COD-Size-2: 54576
RIM-COD-Size-1: 74456
RIM-COD-Size: 72340
RIM-COD-URL: ACCBB.cod
------

 

Please let me know if I should do anything on my side or insist that my COD files are all OK.

 

Thanks in advance!

Andrey Zharkikh
Project Manager, Axmor Software
Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
Posts: 16,215
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport

Re: COD file size

i just checked my biggest project, and there are some single sub-cod bigger than 64kb, the largest being 80kb.
as you can not influence the size of the cod-files i would try to insist that this is correct - and ask them how to proceed otherwise.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
@SimonHain on twitter
Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: COD file size

I am not Mark Sohm, but I'll try to explain.

 

In some (not very rare cases) cod file is bigger than 64K but does not contain sibling cod files inside.

 

It is a solid cod file, but it is a bit bigger than 64K.

 

It can be caused by data files (pictures, sounds) included to the project.

 

Try to split your project to dependant libraries and the main code.

 

Libraries will contain your data files, add data files carefully to do make library cod files less than 64K

 

And your main code will use these libraries. 

Please use plain text.
New Developer
LtSolo
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-04-2008
My Device: Curve 9000

Re: COD file size

I have only small pictures in my project. As you can see from my JAD file there are many COD files. Two of these files are 70+ KB. I thought and the article states this that JDE should handle this itself. As I understand JDE correctly splits the code onto: 10-20 KB of code and adds about 64KB of data resources. If my assumption is correct JDE will always take 64 KB of data resources and add the code. This would always result in 64+ KB size.

 

I realize how to split my code onto libraries but what about resources I have? Should I move all the resources to a separate library and access to these resource then?

Andrey Zharkikh
Project Manager, Axmor Software
Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: COD file size

[ Edited ]

It is a strange requirement you get from AppStore.

 

I do not sell my software products via AppStore.

 

On my experience and on my customers' experience for solid cod files which are a little bit bigger than 64K there is no problem for OTA downloading.

 

You can make several libraries only for resource storage purposes.

 

And add your resources to these libraries and control their size.

 

Maybe you will need to add/remove some resources, compile, compare sizes and do that again. To get results required by AppStore.

 

It is not convenient I agree, but I do not see another way, sorry.

 

EDIT: fixed some typos

Message Edited by tbilisoft on 08-07-2009 10:37 AM
Please use plain text.
Developer
BBDeveloper
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: COD file size

As Simon suggested, Contact AppStore too and explain them the behaviour.

Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
Please use plain text.
New Developer
LtSolo
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-04-2008
My Device: Curve 9000

Re: COD file size

Thanks!

I will contact App Store stuff for more details.

Andrey Zharkikh
Project Manager, Axmor Software
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,684
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: COD file size

The maximum size of a cod file (that doesn't contain siblings) is 128k.  This value is split into 2 halves.  There is 64k of space of application data (byte code) and 64k of resource data (images, sounds, etc added to the project).

 

It is unlikely that you'd ever see a 128k cod file ((that doesn't contain siblings), but it is not unusual to see a cod file over 64 kb.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
sblantipodi
Posts: 1,178
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: COD file size

Thanks for your valuable feedback MSohm.

It seems that you are telling us that a COD file that doesn't contains sibling file can beup to 128k.

 

So how can we solve this problem with APP Store that doesn't accept cod file bigger than 64k?

 

Please help.

Please use plain text.
New Developer
LtSolo
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-04-2008
My Device: Curve 9000

Re: COD file size

For information the store holder I'm talking about is MobiHand https://www.mobihand.com/
Andrey Zharkikh
Project Manager, Axmor Software
Please use plain text.