Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Can't hit an IP address

Hello, i am complete noob to both BlackBerry and Java.  Wrote my first app today. I am trying to send some info to an internal IP address (internal to the corporation).  It works from the simulator, but from the actual BlackBerry it says "Timed out". I know that the BlackBerry sees our network, since I can hit it from the built-in browser.  Maybe there is something more I need to do other than just hit an IP address?

Here is my code.

private void SendToDevice(String IpAddress, String message)
        {
            String sendString = (char) 27 + "%-12345X@PJL RDYMSG DISPLAY = \""

+ message + "\"\r\n" + (char)27 + "%-12345X\r\n";

String name = "socket://" + IpAddress + ":" + "9100" + ";deviceside=true";

try
            {
                SocketConnection sc = (SocketConnection) Connector.open(name, Connector.READ_WRITE, true);
                InputStream is = sc.openInputStream();
                OutputStream os = sc.openOutputStream();
                os.write(sendString.getBytes());
                os.flush();

Dialog.alert("Message sent");
            }
            catch (Exception ex)
            {
                Dialog.alert(ex.getMessage());
            }
        }

Thanks.

Developer
My Device: 7230, 8700, 8820, 9000

Re: Can't hit an IP address

Sounds like a port problem to me.  Are you able to connect to that port from another computer outside of your network?

Earl 

Earl Oliver
Developer

Yes, the connection works perfectly fine from other computers and it works fine from the simulator.  Just does not work from the actual blackberry.

Regards

Highlighted
Developer