Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Contributor
xh7000
My Device: 9780
My Carrier: mtn

Code signing registration

Hi - Did not realise this would be so difficult.

I am very new to BB app development.  I have tried to follow various pages - in particular on edeveloping a basic Hello World app.

I downloaded and installed JDE 6.0 from JDK as well as J2sdk-1_2_4_15-windows-i586

I created the first beginner app on the JDE 6.0 and this worked 100 %

The second and third programs look like they need Code signing registration

I applied for Code signing keys and received my three files.

I can not install them !

The help support website refers to the path c:\program files\Research in motion\ Blackberry WebWorks SDK 2.3.1.5\bin to run the program

I only have c:\program files\Research in Motion\Blackberry JDE 6.0.0\bin

When I try run the CSI files it asks for the PIN and Password, but then comes back with the statements "unable to find the SigTool.csk file"

Has anyone a bit of patience to explain to me where I am going wrong and what the best way forward is ??

(And don't say - give up now !)

Please use plain text.
Developer
simon_hain
My Device: Z10 LE, Z30, Passport
My Carrier: O2 Germany

Re: Code signing registration

you got a bit mixed up. the help site you refer to is the webworks SDK.
webworks is html5, while the JDE is java.

as a first step, i would suggest that you download eclipse+plugin. start at https://bdsc.webapps.blackberry.com/java/
the JDE is a legacy product and i would not develop in it, eclipse has a lot of comfort functionality you would surely miss.

after that, follow this guide:
http://docs.blackberry.com/en/developers/deliverables/20779/Obtain_and_install_signing_keys_1264848_...
----------------------------------------------------------