Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
javec
Posts: 445
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Compile in 4.7 - Use in 4.2.1?

Hello,

if I compile an application in 4.7 and then use that application on 4.2.1, is that possible? Sure I don't use any APIs that are not available in 4.2.1.

 

Because if you compile in 4.2.1, 4.3, 4.5 or 4.6 and then use it on the 4.7 then the screen is not displayed correctly. So can I use compiled-with-4.7 apps on < 4.7?

 

Thank you in advance for clarifying that.

 

If your question was answered, please accept it as a sollution and / or give Kudos ;-)
______________________________
Use the Search Field first! Maybe the question you want to ask already exists!
Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: Compile in 4.7 - Use in 4.2.1?

[ Edited ]

I do not recommend rely on that. Even you are not using 4.7 api - rapc.exe may create different byte-code that is not fully supported on OS 4.2.

 

 

Message Edited by tbilisoft on 12-06-2008 06:20 AM
Please use plain text.
Developer
mreed
Posts: 1,041
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: ಠ_ಠ

Re: Compile in 4.7 - Use in 4.2.1?

You're just asking for trouble...

The amount of unknown-unknowns will haunt you.

Please use plain text.
Developer
javec
Posts: 445
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Compile in 4.7 - Use in 4.2.1?

So there is no way to write an app that works on OS 4.7 and on OS 4.3, even if it does not use 4.7 APIs?
If your question was answered, please accept it as a sollution and / or give Kudos ;-)
______________________________
Use the Search Field first! Maybe the question you want to ask already exists!
Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: Compile in 4.7 - Use in 4.2.1?

[ Edited ]

There is a way.

 

Use JDE 4.3 or an older JDE version.

 

Incorrect screen display - is the cost of the compatibility.

 

Otherwise - develop two versions. For Storm and for older devices.

 

 

Message Edited by tbilisoft on 09-12-2008 05:18 PM
Please use plain text.
Developer
javec
Posts: 445
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Compile in 4.7 - Use in 4.2.1?

Thank you!

But there are a lot of apps that have the correct screen display on the storm (so compiled in 4.7)  but also work on 4.3 and so. What do you think?

If your question was answered, please accept it as a sollution and / or give Kudos ;-)
______________________________
Use the Search Field first! Maybe the question you want to ask already exists!
Please use plain text.
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: Compile in 4.7 - Use in 4.2.1?

[ Edited ]

Let me explain you.

 

Technically it is possible to compile an application in JDE 4.7 to run it on previous versions if you go with a certain caution.

 

But there is a risk and from my point of view this risk is not acceptable. It is the risk for customers.

 

This application may lead customer's device to infinite restart-loop, or just may brick the device because of unsupported byte-code.

 

I think it is unacceptable risk.

 

I would prefer to have different versions for different OS-es, instead of going on that risk.

Message Edited by tbilisoft on 09-12-2008 06:00 PM
Please use plain text.