Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Contributor
Krisper
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Compiling for multiple OS

Sorry, I posted about this yesterday but clicked the solved button before realising I am still stuck.Please excuse the stupid questions, I need an idiots guide.

I have Eclipse version 3.5 with the Blackberry plugin 1.1 and JDE 5.0. I built my application using this and am almost finished. I had no idea about the different JDE and OS before I did this. Now I realise I need to compile my App to run on older devices, possibly back to 4.2. I am a complete beginner so I am unsure of what I need to do. I have searched the forums, but am still at a loss. My stupid questions:-

How do I install multiple JDE's into Eclipse?

Once they are installed how do I change what JDE is used to compile my application?

Can I have multiple JDE installed and then compile for all of them? I have read about preprocessing and will look at setting that up for my app.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
jssantosh84
My Device: 9000 bold
My Carrier: asfas

Re: Compiling for multiple OS

Please use plain text.
Contributor
Krisper

[ Edited ]

Thanks, exactly what I needed.

I noticed that on that help page it is showing versions back to 4.2.1 but I only see versions back to 4.5.0 on http://www.blackberry.com/go/eclipseUpdate/3.5/java. Is there another place I can get 4.2.1?