Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
SoreThumbs

Completely lost newb.

It was suggested I post a new thread so here it is.

This is my first attempt at programming in Java, let alone for the BB platform. I'm just really confused at all the required software needed to do this. Every where I look, it's install these 3 packages, download these 2 other things, on and on. I mean really, look at any of the "getting started" pages, there's tons of stuff to download. Is there something, somewhere that just says:

Install this first, Install this second, install this third. SPECIFICALLY.

Here's the list of all the things I have downloaded so far:

java_ee_sdk-5_08-jdk-6u17-windows
eJDE-4_7_0_46_Component
eJDE1.0.0.67_With_CP4.5.0.16
eclipse-jee-galileo-SR1-win32
BlackBerry_Simulators_5.0.0.337_8530-Verizon
BlackBerry_JDE_PluginFull_1.0.0.67
BlackBerry_JDE_4.7.0

I've never seen so many things needed to be installed just to try and program in one environment!

Is there anything out there that lists specifically what needs to be installed and in what order? I read some of the guides and watched some of the videos and they were still kinda vague.

Or is this the entrance test??? "If you can't figure out how to install and config the environement, you have no biz trying to program this." Thanks in advance.

Please use plain text.
Developer
Andiamo

Re: Completely lost newb.

[ Edited ]

Ehh, yeah, I know what you're talking about. It was not fun the first time I was setting up my BB development environment. In fact it really did feel like an entrance test lol.

Basically, this is the list of stuff you need, and in what order. If something doesn't work right, I apologize, it's been a long time since I last set all of this up and as you can imagine I haven't been keen to do it again.

Java JDK1.6