Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Contributor
ichie
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
My Device: BOLD 9700
Accepted Solution

Coordinates Issue in OS 4.6

Hi All,

 

I've been experiencing a problem with Coordinates when developing for OS 4.6.

 

Whenever I instantiate a Coordinates objects like below:

Coordinates c = new Coordinates(0.0d, 0.0d, 0.0f);

 

The application does not load into a 8520 simulator with OS 4.6. But when I try to load it in a simulator with OS 5.0 it loads.

 

Is there an issue with Coordinates and OS 4.6. How do we instantiate a Coordinates object manually?

 

Note: I can get a QualifiedCoordinates object when using getQualifiedCoordinates() of Location class but I want to instantiate the Coordinates manually especially when getQualifiedCoordinates() returns null.

 

Regards,

ichie

Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Coordinates Issue in OS 4.6

Are you compiling under 4.6 or under 5.0?

 

Contributor
ichie
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
My Device: BOLD 9700

Re: Coordinates Issue in OS 4.6

I'm compiling under 5.0.

 

I'd like to support devices with OS 4.6 and above.

 

Thanks,

ichie

Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Coordinates Issue in OS 4.6

Then you will need to compile under 4.6.

 

Your compiler level must be equal to, or less than the OS level.

 

You cannot compile under 5.0 and load the application on 4.6.

 

 

Contributor
ichie
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
My Device: BOLD 9700

Re: Coordinates Issue in OS 4.6

Thanks RexDoug.

 

But what if we want to support devices with OS 4.6 and above with only one build? We'd also want to support touch screen devices with that same build.

 

It is only with the Coordinates class that I am having a problem. I've been compiling using 5.0 and running the app on 4.6 and it has been working fine until I started using the Coordinates class. Is this an issue with the OS?Would you know if there are any workaround for this issue?

 

Note: If I try to compile using 4.6, the UI for the touch screen devices does not display as it should be when running on the simulators. Should the app run correctly on a touch screen device, say Storm 9550, when it is compiled in 4.6?

 

Thanks,

ichie

BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport

Re: Coordinates Issue in OS 4.6

Please refer to the following:

 

Appropriate version of the BlackBerry JDE

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Appropriate-version-of-the-BlackBerry-JDE/ta...

 

Compatibility Mode with the BlackBerry Storm Smartphone

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Compatibility-Mode-with-the-BlackBerry-Storm...

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Contributor
ichie
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
My Device: BOLD 9700

Re: Coordinates Issue in OS 4.6

Thanks RexDoug and MSohm. FInally got the app working on a device with 4.6 OS.

 

Good job guys!!!

 

Regards,

ichie