Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700
Accepted Solution

DTMF pause

[ Edited ]

I have seen in postings on this forum both "."  and ","   (period and comma) meaning a pause in sending DTMF-tones.  I have not found the "Official" definition. Is there one?

 

How i it implemented, Is it the API that just makes a pause?

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,671
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: DTMF pause

PhoneCall.sendDTMFTones does not support pauses (commas or periods).  Your application will need to wait/sleep between tones if you want to have a delay between tones.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: DTMF pause

Thats what I thought. Thanks for confirming it. I have already put my sending in a separate thread and use an initial sleep for the benefit of the PBX. The Nnotion that comma or period works for pause seems to be common

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,671
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: DTMF pause

Commas work in the phone application, but not in the sendDTMFTones method.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: DTMF pause

>Commas work in the phone application,

 

Hmm,  sort of.  I placed a "comma ( ",") as the first character in the string containing the number I wanted to call. Nothing happened. No call placed, no error message. Nothing, Nada, Zero, Zilch.

like this:

 

Number = "," + phoneNumber.trim();    //Nothing happens

//  Number = phoneNumber;                //This works, call is placed

PhoneArguments pa = new PhoneArguments(PhoneArguments.ARG_CALL, Number,false);


 Invoke.invokeApplication(Invoke.APP_TYPE_PHONE, pa);

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,671
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: DTMF pause

A phone number that starts with a comma instructs the phone app to call a preset number, wait, and then insert the DTMF tones.  This preset number is typically a company/work number that allows a user to just store the extensions of co-workers in their address book. 

 

If this preset number hasn't been set, you should get prompted to enter it the first time you try to dial a number that starts with a  comma.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: DTMF pause

So, a comma has two functions  :-)

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,671
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: DTMF pause

Yes, depending on where it is in the numbers being dialed.  :smileyhappy:

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
ingvar_e
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700

Re: DTMF pause

 

I guess its to confuse the enemy  :smileywink:

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
BBQ10Jay
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-20-2013
My Device: Q10

Re: DTMF pause


MSohm wrote:

A phone number that starts with a comma instructs the phone app to call a preset number, wait, and then insert the DTMF tones.  This preset number is typically a company/work number that allows a user to just store the extensions of co-workers in their address book. 

 

If this preset number hasn't been set, you should get prompted to enter it the first time you try to dial a number that starts with a  comma.


Recently upgraded from BB 9650 to Q10 and noted that when dialing a pager with callback number, phone number with extension or access number followed by phone number that the insertion of the ", " creates the "p" or pause, but one has to press the virtual dial button on the screen to make the call go through.  Any way to autodial the entire sequence?

Please use plain text.