Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
lakshman9687
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎07-22-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Default Menu icons coming in simulator but not in Device?

Hi all,

 

In my application we implement Default Menu icons, like belo image it is coming properly in simulator and os 6.0 device also but it is not coming in 7.0(9860 torch) device. can any body know abt this issue plz tell me how to slove this problem....

 

Thanks in advance....

 

Regards,

Lakshman K

----------------------------------------------------------
Feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,677
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: Default Menu icons coming in simulator but not in Device?

What are you seeing on the BlackBerry Torch?  What BlackBerry handheld software version are you testing on?  You can find this under Options, About on the BlackBerry Smartphone.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
lakshman9687
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎07-22-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Default Menu icons coming in simulator but not in Device?

[ Edited ]

Hi Sohm,

 

Sorry for delay,

Black berry Torch: I am using 9800 Torch which is OS 6.0, and 9860 Torch which is OS 7.0 here i am getting only 9800 Torch.

 

Actually i found that these menu icons are not getting all the devices and simulators which is in above 7.0 Os versions.

In my application i am using 8520,9300,9700,9800,9550,9860,9900,9930 these simulators and relevent resolution devices, here i am getting menu icons in 8520,9300,9700,9800,9550(Both device and simulators) but  9860,9900,9930 these devices i am not getting those menu icons.

 

 Here i am using this code,

 


 

private MenuItem _closeMenuItm = new MenuItem("Close", 0x00010000, 0) 
{
	public void run() 
{ closeAction(); } //This method i am using for icons public Image getIcon() { return ImageFactory.createImage(Bitmap.getBitmapResource("menu_quit.png")); } };

 


Can you plz tell me how can i get those icons for all devices.

Thanks in advance,

 

Regards,

Lakshman K

 

----------------------------------------------------------
Feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.

Please use plain text.
Developer
lakshman9687
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎07-22-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Default Menu icons coming in simulator but not in Device?

Hi all,

 

Can anyone tell me what i have to do for above problem.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Regards,

Lakshman K

----------------------------------------------------------
Feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,677
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: Default Menu icons coming in simulator but not in Device?

I ran your code snippet on a few 7.0 BlackBerry smartphone simulators and was able to reproduce the issue on some but not others.  I also tested on some 7.1 BlackBerry smartphone simulators and the icon does appear correctly in the MenuItem.  Looks like an issue with the API itself in some releases.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.
Developer
lakshman9687
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎07-22-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Default Menu icons coming in simulator but not in Device?

[ Edited ]

Hi Sohm,

 

Thanks for your reply,

 

So can you tell me what is the solution, or anther way to achive that requirement.

 

Give me any idea or any link.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Regards,

Lakshman K

----------------------------------------------------------
Feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor
MSohm
Posts: 14,677
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, BlackBerry PlayBook

Re: Default Menu icons coming in simulator but not in Device?

The solution would be to upgrade the 7.0 devices that have the issue to 7.1 (or possibly even newer versions of 7.0).  I am not aware of any workaround for 7.0.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Please use plain text.