Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified

Developing J2ME applications for Blackberry

Hi,
I am pretty new to blackberry application development. I am posting my application details for your valuable advices.

I have a restaurant website. The functionality of that site is searching for food items(in a particular hotel) and ordering it through the site. I am developing a stand alone version which can be installed on the blackberry device. Users registered with the web version can use the stand alone blackberry version, with the same authentication details as of the web version.

The question I would like to ask is
1) What all softwares I need to have for (a)developing the application (b)how do I add the application on a real device?

The question would be much more simple if I give a simple sample scenario-- I need to develop a stand alone application which will contain a Login Screen.Once I give the username and password, I need to perform a validation check with the database and go to a welcome screen. Please remember that I am talking about a stand alone application and not any web page. How should I proceed? Can you kindly mention the steps I need to take, like what all tools I need to have for this in the development phase.

Also, once I finish developing this ,how do I add the application on a real device and make it work, so that by sitting anywhere around the globe, I can login to the welcome screen.Do I need to have any tools for this?

The application will have no connection with the BB messaging system.
Thanks in advance for all the valuable help and comments.

Anees
Developer

Re: Developing J2ME applications for Blackberry