Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
arunsingh
My Device: Not Specified

Device Database Support

Hi all,

I am new to Blackberry Java development and I am using Blackberry JDE 4.6 for the same. I am developing an application that requires to maintain a database of its own on the device itself.

So far, I am unable to find any help. Is there any database available for Blackberry device. If yes, which APIs (in Java) are provided for their manipulation ?

Thanks

- Arun

Please use plain text.
Developer
marchywka

Re: Device Database Support

This has come up a few time recently, you should be able to find the thread with search.

Usually no one replies when I ask why you would do this? Would you mind elaborating on your

requirements just out of curiousity? Sure, I'd like to help but I have to confess I just don't understand

exactly what people expect to do with a local database on a device with such constraints? Sure, I imagine

looking ahead a bit but still remote databases using the phone for some caching may make sense but

running a full local database sounds like overkill. Do you often have desktop client-side local databases?

Please use plain text.
Developer
arunsingh

Hi,

First of all, thanks for the instant reply. The reason for why do I wish to have a local database on the device is that my application would be dealing with a considerable huge amount of data. And this data will be used repeatitively again and again. For example, my application would be having a module which will create and save profiles for a large number of people. Similarly, other modules would also be requiring to have some or the other sort of information to be saved on the device. And this information will be required to be manipulated in a number of ways.