Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Regular Contributor
meghana_datar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-24-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

Hi,

 

              CAn you please confirm if application loaded in fresh device with no sim works on WIFI for secure API eg: RSA.

 

 

 

We have installed this appclication on fresh(new ) Blackberry device without SIM.

We have connected it to WIFI.

Now We we run the application . Everything in it works fine except a function  where we have used RSA encryption logic. Can we know what is the reason behind it ???

 

 

Now if we insert SIM register it and then remove the SIM card and try running it on WIFI.

Application works even the RSA logic works...

 

Please help..

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,604
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

I was not aware that encryption and SIM were dependent.

 

Can you tell us what encryption functionality you are trying?  Have you tried it, by itself, in a standalone application to make sure that there is no other application logic that is preventing its use?

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
meghana_datar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-24-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

We have some functionality for e.g may be login. It works fine. But we have useed plane RSA encryption logic to encrypt data to send it to server. But only this functionality is not workign.. I dnt know why? CAn you please help.,.

Please use plain text.
New Developer
armengar
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
My Device: Playbook

Re: Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

I think the SIM provides a key for the rest of the algorithm to use.  Let me take a look...

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
meghana_datar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-24-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

We get the encrypted public key from server(tyhrough webservice) ,& using this key we encrypt the data and send it back to server.

 

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,604
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

So are you saying that this requires a connection that can not be made via WiFi? 

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
meghana_datar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-24-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

I dnt know.. this is my question. Does this happen???

Please use plain text.
Developer
peter_strange
Posts: 19,604
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

[ Edited ]

I was asking a different question.

 

You said:

"We get the encrypted public key from server(tyhrough webservice) ,& using this key we encrypt the data..."

 

It would appear that your application requires this key to work.  So rather than the problem being RSA not working without a SIM, perhaps it is this logic that does not work correctly and so this stops you using RSA.

 

Perhaps the best way to prove this is what I suggested before, i.e. create a completely standalone (no network interaction) test of this in a separate application.  Use hard coded data instead of stuff from your server.  This will demonstrate if the RSA algorithm parts needs the SIM. 

 

Does this make sense?

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
meghana_datar
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎11-24-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Do RSA encryption needs BIS or SIM details registered

Yes.. Thank you.. Will check and get back to you.. Soon..
Please use plain text.