Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Contributor
DeckardCain
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Torch 9800

Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

I am experiencing the same issue described here: http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/Error-while-launching-simulator/td-p/567216

 

When attempting to launch the 9800 simulator from within the BlackBerry JDE to debug an application, I receive the error message "Filesystem too big."  If I Ignore the error, I receive the error message "Error inside JVM: Access violation writing to 0x00000008" and my only option is to "Exit".  None of the responses in the post noted above worked for me.  The last post suggests the possible problem, but no solutions.  As it was an older stale post, I decided it would be best to re-post.

 

Here are the things I have tried:

1) Rebooting my computer

2) Running clean.bat

3) Checking physical memory/RAM availability (in excess of 1GB)

4) Checking virtual memory allocation (currently set to 2046 MB)

5) Freeing up hard drive space (45GB free)

6) Running a disk defrag

7) Uninstalling and reinstalling all simulators and the BlackBerry JDE

 

What else can I try?  Has anybody else experienced this issue?

 

Thanks in advance!

Regular Contributor
Utumno
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
My Device: Torch

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

that's interesting, because I've got something opposite: the 9800 sim works fine, but yesterday the 9500 one suddenly started dying on startup with this error. Now even a complete OS reboot does not cure the problem. I really cannot think of anything  I did that would cause this, certainly i didn't reconfigure the sim or mess with JDK...

New Contributor
DeckardCain
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Torch 9800

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

Same here... I did nothing unusual that would have caused this to happen. No settings or config options were changed.
Forgot to mention... I also tried wiping the simulator file system from within the BlackBerry JDE, but that also had no effect on this error.
Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

Remove the *.dmp files from the simulator directory, and restart the simulator.

 

New Contributor
DeckardCain
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Torch 9800

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

Thanks for the reply RexDoug.  I tried deleting the *.dmp files from the simulator directory and attempted to start the simulator again.  The error still occurs.  Any other suggestions?

Regular Contributor
Utumno
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎12-24-2010
My Device: Torch

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

I my case removing the *dmp files worked!

Developer
RexDoug
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

If removing the dmp files doesn't work, then you'll probably need to uninstall the simulator, wipe the simulator directory, and start over.

 

New Contributor
DeckardCain
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Torch 9800

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

I uninstalled the JDE/simulator, deleted all simulator and JDE directories, and reinstalled the JDE.  Still receiving the error message.  Any other ideas?

New Contributor
DeckardCain
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Torch 9800

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

Anybody else out there that can help?

New Member
jeyxi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Filesystem error while launching 9800 simulator

how can we get rid from the launching error? please have it here, anyone?! that would be a big help. thanks in advance! btw, im using windows xp, with limited specs of 512 memory, 40gb hd, is that relevant with the error? i hope it doesn't.