Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
jonberry
My Device: Not Specified

Firewall & IT Policy

If my app does NOT make any connections to a BES should

I be able to make any other conenctions (eg. WiFi, BIS, TCP, WAP, File)

without getting the split pipe error message even if the user

is connected to a BES?

Guru I
John_Clark
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

Re: Firewall & IT Policy

I'm not a developer (that's my disclaimer for posting something that's wrong in the developer's area!) but I do know that I have apps that connect to other connections without getting that error.  I'm on a BES.  I have apps that ONLY connect to wap (apn) and I don't get the error.  However, I'm not sure if all IT policy will allow this so it could be related to that.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Developer
ryandevore

I'm not positive on this, but I think that file connections are private.

Our application runs into problems when non-BES device's have their firewall enabled (we have to have users turn it off, which is not ideal).  Our application uses BIS to connect to the internet, and also uses the FileConnection API to write data files to the store/home/user path.

So what I guess I'm saying is that from my experience, you can still run into problems even if you are not going through a BES...

Guru I
John_Clark
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1154; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917

[ Edited ]