Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GameCanvas System Popup Notification Question.

Do I need to log this somewhere as a bug to be fixed in future revisions ?

 

Dave.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,209
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: GameCanvas System Popup Notification Question.

Our development team is aware of this issue.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
New Developer
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GameCanvas System Popup Notification Question.

Even if detecting a popup _is_ possible in future firmwares/software it doesn't really help existing unupgraded handsets.  I've just encountered the same problem now; I've ported to an 8700-class BlackBerry and I'm trapping the clickwheel so that I can use it in my app rather than have it exit my app...

 

...and now when I get "do you want to connect to the internet?"-style interrupts I can't click the trackwheel as my app is trapping it; I have to use the enter key...

 

D'oh. Smiley Happy  If only there was some kinda UiApplication.thingy.whassname.popped_on_screen isinstanceof something not javax.microedition.lcdui blagaraound. :-/

Developer
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎11-11-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GameCanvas System Popup Notification Question.

I have the same issue here,

I tried showNotify(), hideNotify() but no use.

 

this happens with my pearl 8120 handset ( BB core 4.3 ) but not with my 7130g hanndset ( BB core 4.1 ) 

 

what handsets you guys having trouble ?

 

BB said this is a known issue, thanks for admitting, anyway can i know what handsets/Core versions this is occuring pls ?

 

thnks

 

Developer
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GameCanvas System Popup Notification Question.

Hi,

 

I know that I am re-opening an old thread but I am having the same issue and I don't know what can I do.

 

I tried everything from this thread and it doesnt work.

 

Is there a way to know when a system notification is drawing over my gamecanvas?

 

Thanks in advanced

 

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎01-19-2010
My Device: BOLD 9700 OS5.0.0.x on Rogers Canada
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: GameCanvas System Popup Notification Question.

What OS are you working with? (we're up to 5.0 now... This Thread was started way back in 4.2) Have you tried using Canvas instead of GameCanvas?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
chown -R us ./base
~J!NX