Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-28-2009
My Device: Not Specified

GaugeField

Hi All

    I am implementing a visual music player and try to add an progress bar in it.   I added the progress bar using GaugeField and it works fine. 

 

What I want to make is that I can change the song's time by clicking somewhere on the progress bar,  like all the player in PC(windows media player, itunes, real player).

 

I already made the seek() function in my backend player, so all I need is I click somewhere in the progress bar, the progress bar return me the VALUE I clicked on.  

 

Can someone told me how can I get this value?        

Developer
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GaugeField

You looking this feature for non-touch screen devices too? My suggestion is If you click on the Gauge field do a constant fixed length seek.

Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
Developer
Posts: 412
Registered: ‎09-12-2008
My Device: 9000 9810

Re: GaugeField

Something you need can be seen on Bold's (sorry, don't know on other devices)  media player.

 

Just startup a song or a video and you will see how good and intuitive its behavior is.

Just put your focus on that progress bar and roll left/right. 

 

Note: the player uses BBDeveloper's approach with 'jump = 2s'.

 



"Listen carefully, I shall say this only once"
Developer
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎08-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GaugeField

[ Edited ]

Sorry to bump up an old thread. But is there any solution to this? I'm facing the same issue...

 

myraddin, could you show me what you've done? Any sample code, would be a huge help.

 

Thanks a million.  

Developer
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: GaugeField

For the "style" argument in the constructor, try Field.FOCUSABLE and Field.EDITABLE. Those two should allow you to edit the GuageField.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Developer
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎08-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GaugeField

I'll try, and let you know how it goes. Thanks for replying

Developer
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.997 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: GaugeField

Depending on the device you are developing for it might be odd. I know on the Storm the GuageField is pretty small so the solution for changing it is to click on the GuageField (this is default) and a popup comes up where you can slide your finger across to choose the preferred position. Don't know how it is on other BlackBerry's.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.