Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700
My Carrier: Movistar, Telenor

Getting hold of the APN

When accessing internet programmatically I can use wifi. When wifi is not available I need to use

the service provided by the operator on the mobile net. In order to do that I need to know the APN.

 

I found this:

system.Radio.getAccessPointName(int apnid)

 

Have not figured out where or how to get the apnid.

 

Suggestions anyone?

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Getting hold of the APN

The APN ID used by RadioInfo.getAccessPointName is the ID of the currently open tunnel, which could only have been open if a working APN was specified for it. Thus, it won't help you find out which APNs your should be using to open tunnels.

Developer
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700
My Carrier: Movistar, Telenor

Re: Getting hold of the APN

Definitely sounds like Catch 22.

How do I figure out the APN then? There must be some way to find it. If I make an app that needs to access internet and wifi is not available how do I work it?

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Getting hold of the APN

[ Edited ]

You could use WAP2, or ship your product with a huge (updatable) database that lists working APNs for each carrier network. Mind you, the availability and pricing of APNs depends on the user's data plan too.

Developer
Posts: 551
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
My Device: Torch 9800, Bold 9700
My Carrier: Movistar, Telenor

Re: Getting hold of the APN

:-)

 

>You could use WAP2

 

Could you elaborate this a bit for an ignorant foreigner?

If everything seems to be under control, you're just not driving fast enough
-Mario Andretti-
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified