Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Contributor
eye776
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
My Device: 8530

Re: How can I place resources in a separate cod?

Well, apparently it only happens on the 8120. But the problem is if that even one handset error could break this and if it doesn't get through to my boss, I'll end up spending 1~2 hours/day just signing builds (each build for each carrier will require a new signature).

Please use plain text.
Developer
Developer
CMY
Posts: 1,123
Registered: ‎02-10-2009
My Device: 8130 / 8350 / 9530 / 9550 / 9850 / PlayBook

Re: How can I place resources in a separate cod?

With the permissions you will need to have the cod signed in order to request them, otherwise it is up to the user to set the permisisons. There is nothing you can do about that. Interprocess Communication is usually granted as default from all of the devices I have seen, so either the user or IT staff would had to have changed that.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
eye776
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
My Device: 8530

Re: How can I place resources in a separate cod?

[ Edited ]

Thanks a lot for your support people. Unfortunately my boss decided he wants it (after all) all in a single cod file, and given that my method is the exact opposite of that... It think it has just failed.

 

Unless i can find a way of placing multiple cods inside a single one. (Basically he wants it to be distributed as a single download.)

 

Thanks a lot anyway.

Please use plain text.
Developer
rcmaniac25
Posts: 1,805
Registered: ‎04-28-2009
My Device: Z10 (STL100-4)-10.2.1.3253, Z10 (STL100-3)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Z30 (STA100-5)-10.3.1.634 Dev OS, Passport (SQW100-1)-10.3.0.1418, PlayBook (16GB)-2.1.0.1917

Re: How can I place resources in a separate cod?

That is fairly normal, search the forums for how to make a multi-COD app downloadable.

---Spends time in #blackberrydev on freenode (IRC)----
Three simple rules:
1. Please use the search bar before making new posts.
2. "Like" posts that you find helpful.
3. If a solution has been found for your post, mark it as solved.
--I code too much. Well, too bad.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
eye776
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
My Device: 8530

Re: How can I place resources in a separate cod?

[ Edited ]

Well, I know how to make a multi-cod app downloadable.

Just add this to the jad:

 

 

RIM-COD-URL-1: config.cod
RIM-COD-URL: app.cod

RIM-COD-Size-1: xxxx
RIM-COD-Size: yyyy

RIM-COD-SHA1-1: xx yy zz pp qq etc.
RIM-COD-SHA1: ll kk gg ff ee etc.

Problem is a certain carrier wants a single COD file delivered. (app.cod and config.cod should be in a "larger" cod themselves).

 

Anyway, this is an entirely different problem and the main problem of this post is already solved, so, I'll mark it as such.

 

So for anyone else that might want to do this, here's the rundown:

 

1) Make a library project in JDE;

2) Include whatever files you need in it;

3) Create a packaged class as such:

 

package myResReader;

import java.io.InputStream;

class Res
{
     public static InputStream getResourceStream(String file)
     {
          return Res.class.getResourceAsStream(file);
     }
}

 

 4) Build the library project;

 5) Configure your main app project classpath to accept the library;

 6) Add the library project to the RAPC step as well;

 7) Build your main app project;

 8) Distribute and enjoy.

 

Many thanks to rcmaniac25 (for the solution), and schepurny (for stating the obvious for a moron like me).

Please use plain text.